SIRV
International Society for Vestibular Rehabilitation

vestib.org, the site for Vestibular Reeducation

Benign Paroxysmal Positional Vertigo (BPPV)

Background
The first person to mention a BPPV was ADLER in 1897. BARANY then did it in 1910 and in 1921, tried to provide a first description. In 1952, DIX and HALLPIKE carried out a study of 100 cases and described the positioning manoeuvre to trigger a BPPV. SCHUKNECHT, in 1962 and 1969, provided a physiopathological explanation of cupulolithiasis.
In 1980, SÉMONT found a treatment to this disorder.
 
Epidemiology
It is the most common form of vertigo; it represents around 30% of vertigo disorders in adults. BRANDT and DAROFF, in 1980, and TOUPET, in 1982, indicated that it is more common in women (around 60% of cases).
The ages most affected are those close to retirement; exceptionally, there are sufferers under twenty years of age. Bilateral forms represent 12% to 15% of all BPPV.
The forms that affect the horizontal semi-circular canal appear to represent about 8% of BPPV.

Aetiology
We estimate that 20% of BPPV are post-traumatic. The remaining 80% being idiopathic, even of there is a suspicion that vascular factors might be behind the degeneration of the utricular macula.

Physiopathology
It is a veritable kink in the system of rotatory acceleration sensors (posterior or horizontal semi-circular canals) by the system of linear acceleration sensors (utricle). There is a detachment of the otoconiae (otoliths) with a part of the utricular macula attached.
Then, in a second stage, this "amalgam" or "sludge" finds its way to the interior of the offending semi-circular canal and carries out, as a result, a remote pressure or suction canololithiasis of the cupula of the SCC concerned. This well established concept stems from the hypothesis put forward by SCHUKNECHT (1969) explaining that BPPV via canalolithiasis where the otoconia mass pressed against or rather entered into the cupula via the interior or exterior of the canal.

Clinic
The question and answer session informs us of a sudden onset of a truly violent, rotational vertigo. It often lasts between 10 and 30 seconds. A latency time of several seconds precedes this minor vertiginous crisis. The circumstances are as follows: a sudden change in position, for example rolling over in, or lifting one’s head (careful: the patient often evokes a pathogeny of  the cervical rachis that certain practitioners do not hesitate to confirm when in fact it is nothing of the sort).
Also ensure with the triggering of a vertigo that you start from the initial position, which might evoke, for both the patient and the doctor, a contralateral vertigo instead of the real disorder. This vertigo is, on the one hand alarming, but also in certain cases, can provoke a reaction of the neurovegetative system or lead to nausea. The patient must carefully try to avoid any type of movement that will likely trigger their systems. And when they do manage to avoid BPPV, there is a risk of contractures of the pericervical muscles.

BPPV Research
BPPV manifests itself through a torsional nystagmus beating towards the lower ear. The nystagmus fades away having reached paroxysm and is reversed upon return to the upright position. Functional explorations show no major anomalies.
The exploratory protocol and the treatment of BPPV are described in the section entitled Vestibular rehabilitation.

Evolution
Some times, the crises persist but often in some six weeks, evolution is favourable even though relapses are frequent.
If the BPPV manifests itself several times a day over a relatively long period of time, it could result in a neurosensory disruption, the most common of which is scrolling syndrome with visual dependence and the omission of vestibular information.

SITE MAP  |  LEGAL INFO  |  Contact  |  COPYRIGHT 2009 © SIRV

SIRV
Société Internationale de Réhabilitation Vestibulaire

vestib.org le Site de la Rééducation Vestibulaire

Vertige Positionnel Paroxystique Benin (VPPB)

Historique
Le premier à évoquer un VPPB est ADLER en 1897. BARANY ensuite le fit en 1910 et, en 1921, tenta une première description de celui-ci.  En 1952, DIX et HALLPIKE firent une étude sur 100 cas et décrivirent la manoeuvre de positionnement déclenchant le VPPB. SCHUKNECHT, en 1962 et 1969, donna l'explication physiopathologique par la cupulolithiase.
En 1980, SEMONT trouva le traitement de cette affection.

Epidémiologie
C'est le vertige le plus fréquent ; il représente environ 30% des vertigineux adultes. BRANDT et DAROFF, en 1980, et TOUPET, en 1982, signalent qu'il survient plus souvent chez les femmes (environ 60% des cas).
Les âges les plus concernés sont proches de ceux de la retraite ; ils sont exceptionnels avant 20 ans. Les formes bilatérales représentent 12 à 15% des VPPB.
Les formes touchant le canal semi-circulaire horizontal semblent représenter environ 8% des VPPB.

Etiologie
On estime à 20% les formes post-traumatiques des VPPB. Les 80% restants étant idiopatiques même s'il existe une suspicion de facteurs vasculaires entraînant la dégénérescence de la macule utriculaire.

Physiopathologie
C'est une véritable perversion du système de capteurs d'accélération rotatoires (canal semi-circulaire postérieur ou horizontal) par le système de capteurs d'accélération linéaires (utricule). Il y a un détachement des otoconies (otolithes) avec une part de la macule utriculaire adhérente à celles-ci.
Dans un second temps, cet "amalgame" ou "boue" migre à l'intérieur du canal semi-circulaire incriminé et réalise ce faisant une canalolithiase par pression ou succion à distance de la cupule du CSC concerné. Ce concept maintenant bien établi l'emporte sur l'hypothèse de SCHUKNECHT (1969) expliquant le VPPB par une canalolithiase où la masse otoconiale appuyait voire s'incluait dans la cupule par l'intérieur ou l'extérieur du canal.

Clinique
L'interrogatoire retient la survenue brutale d'un vrai vertige rotatoire violent. Sa durée sera souvent comprise entre 10 et 30 secondes. Une latence de quelques secondes précède cette petite crise vertigineuse. Les circonstances sont les suivantes : un brusque changement de position, par exemple en se retournant dans son lit, ou en levant la tête (attention : le patient évoque couramment une pathogénie du rachis cervical que certains thérapeutes n'hésitent pas à confirmer alors qu'il n'en est rien).
Attention aussi au déclenchement d'un vertige en reprenant la position initiale qui peut évoquer pour le patient comme pour le médecin un vertige controlatéral à la véritable affection. Ce vertige est d'une part anxiogène et, d'autre part, pourra chez certains provoquer une réaction du système neuro-végétatif à type de nausées. Le patient va soigneusement éviter tout mouvement risquant de déclencher ses symptômes. Alors qu'il réussit par là à éviter le VPPB, il risque des contractures de muscles péri-cervicaux.

Recherche du VPPB
Le VPPB est objectivé par la présence d'un nystagmus torsionnel battant vers l'oreille basse. Ce nystagmus s'épuise après être passé par un paroxysme et s'inverse lors du retour à l'orthostatisme. Les explorations fonctionnelles ne montrent pas d' anomalies importantes.
Le protocole exploratoire et le traitement du VPPB sont décrits dans le chapitre sur la Réhabilitation Vestibulaire.

Evolution
Quelquefois les crises persistent mais souvent en quelque 6 semaines l'évolution est favorable bien que les rechutes soient fréquentes.
Si le VPPB se manifeste plusieurs fois par jour sur une durée relativement longue, il peut s'installer une désorganisation neuro-sensorielle dont la plus fréquente est le syndrome des défilements avec dépendance visuelle et omission de l'information vestibulaire.

PLAN DU SITE  |  MENTIONS LÉGALES  |  CONTACT  |  COPYRIGHT 2009 © SIRV