SIRV
International Society for Vestibular Rehabilitation

vestib.org, the site for Vestibular Reeducation

Rotatory Chair Impulse Test, RCIT (Evaluation)

It is an essential part of the protocol. Examinations can be carried out using videoscopy or recorded using videography. It plays a crucial role.

 

But any interpretation of the results can not be considered reliable unless the practitioner rigorously sticks to a straightforward methodology. Furthermore, it can be replicated within the same session (which is not the case for caloric testing). It allows one to carry out a study under physiological conditions (can anyone name another single daily movement that does not question both vestibules?) of the whole set of vestibular channels, from the periphery to the centre. For all the above, and in order to keep things clear, we will look at the origins, the physiology and the conditions for carrying it out in a step-by-step fashion and the interpretation techniques of this now essential test.

 

The practical side of carrying out this test is straightforward. The subject, with their head still, sitting down in a rotatory chair is subjected to a clockwise followed by a counter-clockwise rotation of 180° in 9 seconds. During the rotation, the nystagmic tremors are counted (or recorded). Each rotation is followed by a full 10-seconds stop in order to observe any nystagmic eye movements.

 

For one of us, the development of the test is part of a series of daily findings and undeniable truths:

 

  • the harsh discovery that there is no correlation between signs and symptoms;
  • the incredible disappointment of a patient who has gone through reeducation, is getting back to normal life and who after a follow-up ENG is told: "There is no change!"

 

Among the multitude of balance evaluation tools available, the first and only one that allows us to quantify the use of input and monitors the correlation of compensation and the fading away of the subject’s symptoms is the Equitest™. But it must also be acknowledged that its price severely limits its general distribution...

 

Knowing that balance can not exist without stabilising the gaze, that walking naturally can not happen without the ability to anticipate with the gaze the direction one is travelling in, and that balance is not an ascending system that starts at the feet and makes its way up to the head, but rather a descending system that moves downwards from the head, we wanted to see how it was possible not only to measure VOR but also to ensure the monitoring of the recovery or compensation.

 

As is always the case, the discovery was made by chance. E. Ulmer was kind enough to invite one of us to participate in the building of a prototype of his “video goggles”. The daily use of these, in order to familiarise ourselves with them, on each patient coming to undergo reeducation gave rise to an initial observation: the vertigal nystagmus were considerable while with the Frenzel goggles, nothing at all was observed.

 

We were able to note that there were many more cases of vertical nystagmus when the moment of putting on the goggles was close to the moment when the patient was sitting on the chair. Conversely, if the patient continued to be seated for a certain time, there were no more vertical movements than expected.

 

Faced with this finding, the important thing was to check to see if the nystagmus faded away and if this was the case, after how long. Indeed, the time it took to fade away varied greatly, anywhere from a few seconds to a full minute.

 

This finding enabled us to understand the importance of darkness for the non-inhibition of the nystagmus caused by the vertical downward movement of the body as the patient sat down.

 

If there was such persistence and such a sensitivity to vertical movements, why no employ an identical paradigm for the horizontal canals. For the latter, we use a rotatory chair. When rotating the subject, a nystagmus is noted once the chair comes to a stop. This is quite normal and logical given that although at a different speed, this is something that we are used to observing in vestibular reeducation and which we use to lower the VOR time constant on the healthy side.

 

Another finding was that the post-rotational response with the chair set to a low speed (that used for testing) did not necessarily correlate to the same observations, on the same subject, at high speed, such as those used for vestibular reeducation at 500°/s. Instead of asymmetrical responses and therefore a directional nystagmic preponderance, we were able to observe either post-rotational symmetrical responses or complete asymmetry of the per- and post-rotational responses.

 

Could the speed be the issue? To get a better understanding, we have to test a population of normal subjects. The results of the study were as follows:

 

  • with rotation speeds of below 30° + /- 2°/s, 65% of the subjects did not present with a nystagmus once the chair stopped. The others had either one or two nystagmic saccadic eye movements.
  • Lowering the rotation speed to 20°/s +/- 2°/s, the number of normal subjects, without presenting with a nystagmus once the chair stopped, was significantly higher whereas there was no significant change in the number of nystagmic saccadic eye movements during rotation.

 

Schematically, this can be summarised in the following way:

 

  • with a normal subject, one observes nystagmic saccadic eye movement during rotation and there are no (or few) once the chair comes to a stop,
  • subjects with a unilateral vestibular deficit present with a post-rotational nystagmus following ipsilateral rotation beating towards the unhealthy side.

 

In a second session, after a sufficiently long practical session to be able to verify replication of the test by a number of users, it was time to move ahead with normalisation.

 

Normalisation was carried out based on standard, rigorous statistical criteria, whereby numerous teams took part following the examination protocol to the letter. We therefore tested 100 normal subjects (the average age being 46), with no cochlear or vestibular otological disorders.

 

The next issue was how to present the results of testing in a graphic format. Conventionally, taking into account the direction of the endolymphatic flow, the per-rotational nystagmus beats to the side of rotation of the chair and therefore the side of the ipsilateral ear during rotation. Post-rotational pathological nystagmus beat to the opposite side of the direction of rotation, therefore to the side of the contralateral ear to the direction of rotation. We therefore find ourselves faced with a test that is comparable to binaural and bithermic caloric testing. The per-rotational nystagmus corresponds to the warm test, the post-rotational nystagmus, to the cold test.

 

It was therefore possible to adapt the design of “Professor Freyss’ butterfly” to these responses. However, we chose not to do this so as not to lead to confusion. Furthermore, in the case of a normal subject, and for a high percentage of subjects, the cold test would give a null response, in other words a bilateral areflexia!

 

The person who designed the graph therefore chose a dynamic representation, a curved format, to remind us that it depicts rotational testing. As with Professor Freyss’ “butterfly”, it is convenient to join together the per- and post-rotational responses for each rotation, the same way as one would link together the warm and cold responses during caloric testing.

 

The two lines cross each other as normal within the “circle of trust” of the graph. In a pathological situation, the crossing point of the two lines is to the side with the highest number of responses, contrary to the reading from caloric testing where this would be to the side with the deficit.
Using videography, this can be expressed as a representation of the speed values of the eventual slow phase per- and post-rotational nystagmus. This level of precision allows us to analyse the results in even finer detail.

 

This test, although perhaps still in its youth, is already widely used. It is nevertheless certain that formulae that enable us to measure directional preponderance and relative reflectivity shall be perfectly suitable.

 

With this clinical data, in order to better understand the pathological modifications, it was important to explain the underlying physiological mechanism of this test.

 

This test is broken down into two repeated sessions, as there is both a clockwise and a counter-clockwise 180° rotation over 9 seconds, each followed by a 10 second rest time.

 

Rotation is carried out at a constant speed and can be broken down as follows: an acceleration phase (25°/s2) which lasts one second, a constant speed stage lasting 7 seconds, a deceleration phase that is identical to the initial acceleration phase, therefore also lasting one second. There is no sudden stop in this test.

 

After one rotation of the head in the upright position, the cupula of the ipsilateral semi-circular canal in the direction of the rotation moves towards the utricle. If the rotation continues at a constant speed, the cupula will take 25 seconds +/- 2 to return to its initial position. This length of time, labelled "decay", equates to the time of discharge of the velocity storage mechanism, which is longer that the mechanical return of the cupula to its neutral position. It is during this phase that we are able to measure the time constant of the canalo-ocular system. Said time constant is, for a normal subject undergoing this stimulus, 7.4 seconds +/- 1.

 

It is worth noting that this value is very close to the time constant of the cupula.
Thus, during the initial phase of RCIT (in other words, acceleration at a rate of 25°/sec), the cupula moves towards the utricle, reaching maximum deviation at 7 sec. +/-1 sec. At this point, "decay" begins but one second later, deceleration begins. This in fact will bring the cupula back to it original position. When the chair comes to a stop, there will be no visible nystagmus. The two eyes jerks that are sometimes noted, falling within the realms of reality, are due to normal variability of these time constants.

 

One might think, taking into account our knowledge, from our observations and from our work, that the RCIT protocol is based on a pivotal value, the threshold beyond which gain no longer changes, regardless of the frequency of stimulation.

 

This test is ideally situated, a compromise between acceleration, duration and speed so that the cupular dynamic is respected, both in its provoked deviation and in its return to zero, also provoked.

 

Henceforth, it takes no effort to understand that in the case of a subject presenting with a unilateral deficit, the value of the time constant on the damaged side will fall while that of the healthy side remains the same. Hence, following rotation of the damaged side, there is a noticeable fall in response, and when the chair comes to a stop, the deceleration will activate the opposite side whose response will not be cancelled out by the return to its original position of the cupula on the damaged side. Therefore a certain number of nystagmic saccadic eye movements will be observed, beating towards the opposite direction of the rotation and provoked by the response of the contralateral side of the direction of rotation. When rotation is ipsilateral to the healthy side, the movement of the cupula is normal and therefore there is no response from the damaged side.

 

We have synthesized, albeit in a simplified manner, these different situations on the graphics below:
Mechanisms involved during clockwise rotation for a normal subject Mechanisms involved when rotation comes to a stop for a normal subject
Modifications to per-rotational mechanisms for a subject suffering from a unilateral deficit
Modifications to post-rotational mechanisms for a subject suffering from a unilateral deficit
From this data, the reading and plotting of the results onto the graph are easily done, with a simple glance once this becomes part of the daily clinical practice.

Main results on these graphics
Standard and Symmetrical Rotatory Chair Impulse Testing (RCIT)

Abnormal RCIT: Asymmetric with Abnormal Right Deficit
RCIT: Asymmetric with Left Deficit
Abnormal RCIT: Symmetrical but the level of per and post-rotational responses are high compared to values "within the normal range"
Abnormal RCIT: Completely asymmetric with Left-side Areflexia

Abnormal RCIT: Completely asymmetric with Right-side Areflexia
Abnormal RCIT: Graphic complete for bilateral hyper-reflectivity

Lastly, it would be of interest to carry out a correlation between this test and the rather more classic caloric stimulation. The different tests were entrusted to a number of examiners who work using the same equipment and more importantly, rigorously followed an identical protocol. We believed these to be the minimum conditions to have any chance of achieving reliable and replicable results.

 

VNG allows for a manual review of the results of all the tests. This therefore means it is possible to correct for the inevitable shortcomings of a single automatic treatment. We believe in fact, that a practitioner should not hand over full responsibility for the treatment and analysis of the registered results to a single machine (regardless of how powerful it might be).

We are in a position to confirm that of over 100 cases, there was no single normal RCIT with a pathological caloric test. In fact, the opposite was true. In all situations, there was evidence of imaging anomalies. This therefore clearly shows the sensitivity of the test.            

SITE MAP  |  LEGAL INFO  |  Contact  |  COPYRIGHT 2009 © SIRV

SIRV
Société Internationale de Réhabilitation Vestibulaire

vestib.org le Site de la Rééducation Vestibulaire

Epreuve Rotatoire Impulsionnelle, E.R.I. (Bilan)

C'est un temps essentiel du protocole. Elle peut être étudiée en vidéoscopie ou enregistrée en vidéographie. Sa réalisation est capitale.

 

Mais elle n'est interprétable avec fiabilité que si le praticien accepte la rigueur d'une méthodologie, au demeurant simple. De plus, elle est reproductible dans la même séance (ce que n'est pas l'épreuve calorique ... ). Elle permet une étude dans des conditions physiologiques (qui pourrait citer un seul mouvement quotidien qui ne met pas en cause les deux vestibules ?) de l'ensemble des voies vestibulaires, de la périphérie au centre. Pour toutes ces raisons afin que les choses soient désormais et définitivement claires, nous développerons étape par étape la genèse, la physiologie, les conditions de réalisation et les modalités d'interprétation de ce test maintenant fondamental.

 

La réalisation pratique de cette épreuve est simple. Le sujet, tête immobile, assis sur un fauteuil est soumis à une rotation horaire puis anti-horaire de 180° en 9 secondes. Durant la rotation, les secousses nystagmiques sont comptées (ou enregistrées). Après chaque rotation, un arrêt de 10 secondes est respecté afin d’observer d’éventuels mouvements oculaires nystagmiques.

 

L'élaboration du test est partie, pour l'un d'entre nous, d'un ensemble de constatations quotidiennes et de vérités implacables :
• la cruelle constatation qu'il n'y a pas de corrélation entre signes et symptômes ;
• la formidable déconvenue d'un patient rééduqué reprenant une vie normale et qui après un ENG de contrôle s'entend dire : "il n'y a pas de changement" !

 

Dans la panoplie des outils d'évaluation de la fonction d'équilibration, le premier et le seul qui ait permis de quantifier l'utilisation des entrées et le suivi de la compensation corrélée avec la disparition des symptômes d'un sujet est l'EquitestTM. Mais il faut reconnaître que son coût n'en permet pas une grande diffusion...

 

Sachant que l'équilibre ne peut exister sans stabilisation du regard, que la marche automatique ne peut se faire sans la capacité d'anticiper avec le regard la direction du trajet, et que l'équilibration n'est pas un système ascendant des pieds vers la tête mais un système descendant de la tête vers les pieds, nous avons voulu voir comment il était possible non seulement de mesurer le R.V.O. mais encore d'assurer le suivi de la récupération ou de la compensation.

 

Comme toujours, la découverte est le fruit du hasard. E. Ulmer a fait à l'un d'entre nous l'amitié de nous faire participer à la construction d'un prototype de ses lunettes vidéo. L'utilisation quotidienne de celles-ci, dans un but de familiarisation, sur chaque malade venant en rééducation a donné lieu à une première observation : le nombre de nystagmus verticaux observés était considérable alors que, sous lunettes de Frenzel, rien n'était observé.

 

Nous avons remarqué qu'il y avait d'autant plus de nystagmus verticaux que la mise en place des lunettes était proche du moment ou le sujet s'était assis sur le fauteuil. A contrario, si le malade était assis depuis un certain temps, il n'y avait pas plus de mouvements verticaux que d'habitude.

 

Devant cette constatation l'important était de vérifier si ce nystagmus s'épuisait et si tel était le cas au bout de combien de temps. Effectivement, il s'épuisait en un temps très variable pouvant aller de quelques secondes à une minute.

 

Cette constatation a permis de comprendre l'importance du noir comme responsable de la non-inhibition du nystagmus provoqué par le mouvement vertical descendant du corps pour s'asseoir.

 

S'il y avait une telle persistance et une telle sensibilité pour les mouvements verticaux, pourquoi ne pas utiliser un paradigme identique pour les canaux horizontaux. Pour ces derniers, nous disposions du fauteuil rotatoire. En faisant tourner un sujet, nous pouvions observer un nystagmus à l'arrêt du fauteuil. Chose logique et normale puisque c'est, à une vitesse différente, ce que nous avons l'habitude d'observer en rééducation vestibulaire et que nous utilisons pour abaisser la constante de temps du R.V.O. du côté sain.

 

Une autre constatation était que la réponse post-rotatoire sur fauteuil à vitesse basse (celle retenue pour le test) n'était pas forcément corrélée avec les observations, sur un même sujet, à vitesse élevée, comme celles utilisées pour la rééducation vestibulaire à un niveau de 500°/s. Au lieu d'avoir, sans plus, des réponses asymétriques et donc une prépondérance directionnelle nystagmique, il pouvait être observé soit des réponses présentes mais symétriques en post-rotatoire ou bien une asymétrie complète des réponses per et des réponses post-rotatoires.

 

La vitesse pouvait-elle être en cause ? Pour le comprendre il était nécessaire de tester une population de sujets normaux. Le résultat de cette étude a été :
• en dessous d'une vitesse de rotation de 30° + /- 2°/s, 65% des sujets n'avaient pas de nystagmus à l'arrêt du fauteuil. Les autres avaient entre une et deux secousses.
• En abaissant la vitesse de rotation du fauteuil à 20°/s +/- 2°/s, le nombre de sujet normaux, sans nystagmus à l'arrêt du fauteuil, était significativement plus élevé alors que le nombre de secousses nystagmiques pendant la rotation n'avait pas changé d'une manière significative.

 

Schématiquement, on pouvait résumer les choses de la manière suivante :
• chez un sujet normal on observe des secousses nystagmiques pendant la rotation du fauteuil et il n'y a pas (ou peu) de secousses à l'arrêt,
• un sujet porteur d'une atteinte déficitaire unilatérale présente un nystagmus post-rotatoire après rotation ipsilatérale au côté malade.

 

Dans un deuxième temps, après une pratique suffisamment longue pour pouvoir vérifier la reprouctibilité du test entre les mains de multiples utilisateurs, il a été nécessaire de procéder à sa normalisation.

 

Elle a été effectuée selon des critères statistiques habituels et rigoureux, plusieurs équipes y ont participé en respectant scrupuleusement le protocole d'examen. Nous avons ainsi testé 100 sujets normaux (la moyenne d'âge a été de 46 ans), indemnes de toute pathologie otologique, qu'elle soit cochléaire ou vestibulaire.

 

Il se posait ensuite le problème de la représentation graphique du test. Conventionnellement, compte tenu du sens du flux endolymphatique, les nystagmus per-rotatoires battent du coté de la rotation du fauteuil et donc du côté de l'oreille ipsilatérale à la rotation. Les nystagmus post rotatoires pathologiques battent du côté opposé au sens de rotation, donc du côté de l'oreille controlatérale au sens de rotation. Nous nous trouvons donc devant une épreuve comparable à l'épreuve calorique binaurale et bithermique. Les nystagmus per correspondent à l'épreuve chaude, les nystagmus post-rotatoires à une épreuve froide.

 

Il était donc possible d'adapter la conception du «papillon du professeur Freyss» à ces réponses. Cela n'a pas été notre choix pour ne pas prêter à confusion. De plus, chez un sujet normal et pour un grand pourcentage de sujets, l'épreuve froide se serait traduite par une réponse nulle soit une aréflexie bilatérale !

 

Le concepteur du graphe a donc choisi une représentation dynamique, courbe, pour rappeler qu'il s'agit d'une épreuve rotatoire. Comme dans le "papillon" du professeur Freyss, il convient de relier entre elles les réponses per et les réponses post-rotatoires de chaque rotation, de la même façon que l'on joindrait les réponses chaudes et les réponses froides d'une épreuve calorique.

 

Les deux lignes se croisent normalement au milieu du cercle de confiance du graphe. En situation pathologique, le déplacement de ce point de croisement des deux lignes se fait du côté dont les réponses sont les plus élevées, contrairement à la lecture de l'épreuve calorique qui indique le côté déficitaire.
Sous vidéographie, cette représentation a pu être exprimée selon les valeurs de vitesses de phase lente des nystagmus per et post-rotatoires éventuels. Cette précision permet une analyse encore plus fine des résultats.

 

Cette épreuve est, peut-être, encore jeune mais déjà beaucoup utilisée. Il est cependant certain que les formules qui permettent de mesurer la prépondérance directionnelle, la réflectivité relative seront tout à fait applicables.

 

A partir de ces données cliniques, il importait, pour comprendre les modifications pathologiques, d'expliquer le mécanisme physiologique de cette épreuve.

 

Ce test se décompose en deux temps répétés deux fois puisqu' il y a une rotation horaire et une rotation anti-horaire de 180° en 9 secondes, chacune étant suivie d'un temps d'arrêt d'une durée de dix secondes.

 

La rotation s'effectue à vitesse constante et peut se décomposer de la manière suivante : une phase d'accélération (25°/s2) qui dure une seconde, une phase à vitesse constante d'une durée de 7 secondes, une phase de décélération identique à l'accélération initiale soit une durée de une seconde. Il ne s'agit donc pas d'une épreuve à arrêt brusque.

 

Lors d'une rotation de la tête dans l'espace, la cupule du canal semi-circulaire ipsilatéral au sens de rotation se déplace vers l'utricule. Si la rotation perdure à vitesse constante, la cupule retournera à sa position d'équilibre en 25 secondes +/- 2. Cette durée, appelée "decay" par les anglo-saxons, correspond à la décharge du mécanisme de stockage de vitesse qui est plus longue que le retour mécanique de la cupule à sa position neutre. C'est dans cette phase que nous pouvons mesurer la constante de temps du système canalo-oculaire.
Cette constante de temps est, pour un sujet normal soumis à ce stimulus, de 7,4 secondes +/- 1.

 

On remarque que cette valeur est très proche de la constante de temps de la cupule.
Ainsi, durant la phase initiale de l'E.R.I. (c'est-à-dire pendant l'accélération de 25°/sec2), la cupule se déplace vers l'utricule et atteint sa déviation maximum en 7 sec +/-1 sec. Alors le"decay" commence mais une seconde plus tard arrive la décélération. Celle-ci va, en fait, ramener la cupule à sa position zéro. A l'arrêt du fauteuil, il n'y aura, de ce fait, aucun nystagmus visible. Les deux secousses parfois notées, restant dans la normalité, sont dues à la variabilité normale de ces constantes de temps.

 

On peut penser, compte tenu de l'état de nos connaissances, de nos observations et de nos travaux, que le protocole de l'E.R.I. se fait donc a une valeur charnière qui se trouve être le seuil au delà duquel le gain ne change plus, quelle que soit la fréquence de stimulation.

 

Ce test se place donc à un niveau idéal de compromis d'accélération, de durée et de vitesse pour que la dynamique cupulaire soit respectée tant dans sa déviation provoquée que dans sa remise à zéro, également provoquée.

 

L'on comprend dès lors aisément que, pour un sujet présentant un déficit unilatéral, la constante de temps du côté lésé aura sa valeur baissée alors que celle du côté sain restera intacte. De ce fait, après rotation du côté lésé, il est observé une diminution de la réponse et, à l'arrêt du fauteuil, la décélération va activer le côté opposé dont la réponse ne sera pas annulée par le retour à zéro de la cupule du côté lésé. On observera donc un certain nombre de secousses nystagmiques battant dans la direction opposée à la rotation et provoquées par la réponse du côté controlatéral au sens de giration. Lorsque la rotation s'opère ipsilatéralement au côté sain, le déplacement cupulaire se fait normalement et il n'y a donc pas de réponse du côté malade.

 

Nous avons synthétisé, en les simplifiant, ces différentes situations sur les figures ci-dessous :

Mécanismes mis en jeu lors de la rotation horaire chez un sujet normal Mécanismes mis en jeu à l'arrêt de la rotation horaire chez un sujet normal

Modification des mécanismes per-rotatoires chez un sujet déficitaire unilatéral Modification des mécanismes post-rotatoires chez un sujet déficitaire unilatéral

A partir de ces données, l'écriture et la lecture des résultats sur le graphique se font facilement, d'un seul coup d'œil en pratique clinique quotidienne.

 

Principaux résultats sur ces graphiques

Epreuve Rotatoire Impulsionnelle Normale et Symétrique

E.R.I. Anormale : Asymétrie avec Déficit Droit E.R.I. Anormale : Asymétrie avec Déficit Gauche

E.R.I. Anormale : Symétrique mais niveau de réponse per et postrotatoire important par rapport aux "limites de la normale"

E.R.I. Anormale : Asymétrie complète avec Aréflexie Gauche

E.R.I. Anormale : Asymétrie complète avec Aréflexie Droite E.R.I. Anormale : Graphe complet d'hypereflectivité bilatérale

 

Il est enfin apparu intéressant d'effectuer une corrélation entre cette épreuve et la classique stimulation calorique. Nous avons confié ces différents tests à de multiples examinateurs qui travaillaient sur même matériel et surtout suivaient un protocole identique et rigoureux. Ces conditions nous ont paru être le minimum à respecter pour vouloir prétendre être fiable et reproductible.

 

La V.N.G. permet une relecture manuelle des résultats de tous les tests. Cela rend donc possible la correction des inévitables déficiences du seul traitement automatique. Nous pensons, en effet, qu'un praticien ne peut abandonner à sa seule machine (si puissante qu'elle soit) la responsabilité complète du traitement et de l'analyse des tracés enregistrés.


Nous avons pu constater qu'il n'a jamais été noté, sur plus de 100 cas, une E.R.I. normale avec une épreuve calorique pathologique. En revanche, l'inverse a pu être observé. Dans toutes ces situations, des anomalies en imagerie furent mises en évidence. Cela montre donc bien la sensibilité de l'épreuve.                     

PLAN DU SITE  |  MENTIONS LÉGALES  |  CONTACT  |  COPYRIGHT 2009 © SIRV