SIRV
International Society for Vestibular Rehabilitation

vestib.org, the site for Vestibular Reeducation

Dynamic posturography: Equitest™ & Smart™ for vestibular exploration and rehabilitation

In France, posturography is not a new technique. Dr BARON (ENT and Ophthalmologist) is the most renowned expert in this field. His disciple, P-M GAGEY has continued to vigorously and competently promote this discipline, with perseverance. It is a static posturography, in other words, on stable, normalised platforms. In the vestibular field, therefore primarily mobile and dynamic in nature, this type of equipment is unsuitable. Static posturography in fact deals with the exploration of postural pains in order to correct them. In the US, and MIT student, Lew NASHNER, having visited the laboratory of Alain Berthoz, built a computerised dynamic posturographic platform called the EQUITEST®. It is important to differentiate between a dynamic posturographic machine and a static posturography platform, made mobile by a system such as a treadmill. The latter is a static platform mounted atop a mechanical system that gives it mobility in all directions. In other words, free movement. This freedom of movement generates a great deal of noise and it becomes difficult to distinguish between an extrapyramidal syndrome, an elderly subject with a fear of falling and a subject with a vestibular disorder.

 

The dynamic posturographic platform is subject to the movements of the patient. This makes all the difference. In fact, this subservience means that if the subject does not move, the platform does not move. Conversely, if the subject moves their centre of mass 8° at a speed of 20°/s, the platform will perfectly mirror the same parameters.
This machine is used to test the neurosensory organisation of a patient. In other words, the machine will determine how the subject uses the three equilibration function inputs to maintain equilibrium. The computerisation of the curves will enable us to discover if the subject is capable of choosing the most suitable input for each situation should there be any conflict.
This wonderful test machine, complementary to other research means, and able to measure inputs separately should also be able to be of use in reeducation.
L. NASHNER was kind enough, and at our request, to develop a machine that is able to serve both research and reeducation purposes, based on the parameters described below.

equitest 6
Equitest
SITE MAP  |  LEGAL INFO  |  Contact  |  COPYRIGHT 2009 © SIRV

SIRV
Société Internationale de Réhabilitation Vestibulaire

vestib.org le Site de la Rééducation Vestibulaire

Posturographie dynamique : Equitest & Smart pour l'exploration et la réhabilitation vestibulaire

La posturographie n'est pas, en France, une technique nouvelle. Le Dr BARON O.R.L. et ophtalmologue est le nom le plus connu dans le domaine. Son disciple P-M GAGEY a continué de promouvoir cette discipline avec beaucoup de talent, de persévérance et de compétence. Il s'agit de posturographie statique c'est à dire sur des plateformes normalisées stables. Dans le domaine vestibulaire donc essentiellement mobile et dynamique ce genre de matériel est inadapté. La posturographie statique s'adresse en fait à l'exploration des algies posturales dans un but de correction. Aux US un élève du M.I.T.: Lew NASHNER a construit après être passé par le laboratoire d'Alain Berthoz une plateforme de posturographie dynamique computérisée qui porte le nom d'EQUITEST®. Il est important de différencier une machine de posturographie dynamique d'une plateforme de posturographie statique rendue mobile par un système type: planche sur rouleau. Cette dernière est une plateforme statique montée sur un système mécanique qui lui donne de la mobilité dans tous les plans. Autrement dit les mouvements sont libres. Cette liberté de mouvement génère beaucoup de bruit et il devient difficile de distinguer la différence entre un syndrome extra-pyramidal, un sujet âgé qui a peur de tomber et un sujet vestibulaire.

 

La plateforme de posturographie dynamique est asservie aux mouvements propres du sujet. Ceci fait toute la différence. En effet l'asservissement fait que si le sujet ne bouge pas la plateforme ne bougera pas. En revanche si le sujet déplace son centre de masse de 8° à une vitesse de 20°/s la plateforme bougera selon les mêmes paramètres.
Cette machine est utilisée pour tester l'organisation neurosensorielle d'un sujet. Formulé autrement la machine va déterminer comment le sujet utilise les trois entrées de la fonction d'équilibration pour tenir en équilibre. La computérisation des tracés va permettre de savoir si le sujet est capable de choisir l'entrée la plus adaptée à la situation dans laquelle il se trouve en cas de conflit.
Cette merveilleuse machine de test, complément des autres moyens d'investigations, ayant une capacité de mesure spécifique des entrées devait pouvoir aussi servir en rééducation.
L. NASHNER nous a fait l'amitié de développer à notre demande une machine qui peut servir à investiguer et rééduquer selon des paramètres que nous décrirons plus loin.

equitest 6
Equitest
PLAN DU SITE  |  MENTIONS LÉGALES  |  CONTACT  |  COPYRIGHT 2009 © SIRV