SIRV
International Society for Vestibular Rehabilitation

vestib.org, the site for Vestibular Reeducation

Vestibular Innervation & Vascularization

INNERVATION OF THE INNER EAR

Vestibular innervation

Located at the back of the internal auditory canal, Scarpa’s ganglion, formed by cell bodies of the vestibular nerve, has an upper and a lower part.

The bipolar neurons from the upper part stimulate the ampullary crestas of the superior and external semi-circular canals, the utricular macula, and a part of the saccular macula.

Those of the lower part stimulate the ampullary crest of the posterior semi-circular canal a well as a part of the saccular macula.

The nerve fibres of the sensory organs of the vestibular apparatus form the vestibular nerve that crosses the internal auditory canal and penetrates the brain stem at the level of the bulb where it connects to the vestibular nuclei.

There are numerous connections between the different parts of the vestibular nucleus, which explains the complex nature of providing a network diagnosis of balance disorders. There are in effect internuclear, vestibulo-spinal, vestibulo-cerebellar and vestibulo-ocular connections, in addition to thalamic and cortical connections.

VASCULARIZATION OF THE INNER EAR

Vascularisation of the inner ear

The vascularization of the inner ear is primarily dependent on the vertebro-basilar system.

This is the starting point of the middle cerebellar artery, which supplies blood to the labyrinth via the internal auditory artery.

The internal auditory artery is divided into the anterior vestibular artery and the cochlear artery. The cochlear artery in turn is divided into the cochlear artery itself and the vestibulo-cochlear artery.

The utricular macula, a part of the saccula, the ampullae and the membranous walls of the superior and exterior semi-circular canals as well as the roof of the utricle and the saccule are dependent on the anterior vestibular artery.

The cochlear artery supplies blood to the upper three-quarters of the cochlea while the vestibulo-cochlear artery supplies blood to the remaining quarter, the cochlear branch. The vestibular branch of the vestibulo-cochlear artery vascularises the saccular macula, the floor of the utricle and saccule, the ampulla as well as the membranous walls of the posterior semi-circular canal.

The absence of substitution explains why any vascular damage is the source of vestibular lesions, which, depending on where the lesion occurs, will manifest as hearing problems and/or balance disorders.

SITE MAP  |  LEGAL INFO  |  Contact  |  COPYRIGHT 2009 © SIRV

SIRV
Société Internationale de Réhabilitation Vestibulaire

vestib.org le Site de la Rééducation Vestibulaire

Innervation & Vascularisation Vestibulaires

INNERVATION DE L'OREILLE INTERNE

innervation du vestibule

Situé au fond du conduit auditif interne, le ganglion de Scarpa, formé par les corps cellulaires du nerf vestibulaire, se compose d'une partie supérieure et d'une partie inférieure.

Les neurones bipolaires de la partie supérieure innervent les crètes ampullaires des canaux semi-circulaires supérieur et externe, la macule de l'utricule, et une partie de la macule du saccule.

Ceux de la partie inférieure innervent la crête ampullaire du canal semi-circulaire postérieur ainsi qu'une partie de la macule du saccule.

Les filets nerveux des organes sensoriels de l'appareil vestibulaire, ainsi réunis, forment le nerf vestibulaire qui traverse le conduit auditif interne et pénètre dans le tronc cérébral au niveau du sillon bulbo-protubérantiel pour rejoindre les noyaux vestibulaires.

Les connexions des diverses parties du noyau vestibulaire sont multiples, ce qui explique la complexité du diagnostic rétiologique des troubles de l'équilibre. Il existe en effet des connexions internucléaires, vestibulo-spinales, vestibulo-cérébelleuses, vestibulo-oculaires, ainsi que des connexions thalamiques et corticales.

VASCULARISATION DE L'OREILLE INTERNE

vascularisation de l'oreille interne

La vascularisation de l'oreille interne dépend pend essentiellement du système vertébro-basilaire.

Il donne naissance à l'artère cérébelleuse moyenne qui irrigue le labyrinthe par l'intermédiaire de l'artère auditive interne.

L'artère auditive interne se divise en artère vestibulaire antérieure et en artère cochléaire. L'artère cochléaire se scinde en artère cochléaire propre et en artère vestibulo-cochléaire.

La macule de l'utricule, une partie du saccule, les ampoules et les parois membraneuses des canaux semi-circulaires supérieur et externe et la paroi supérieure de l'utricule et du saccule dépendent de l'artère vestibulaire antérieure.

L'artère cochléaire irrigue les trois quarts supérieurs de la cochlée et l'artère vestibulo-cochléaire irrigue le quart restant par sa branche cochléaire. La branche vestibulaire de l'artère vestibulo-cochléaire vascularise la macule du saccule, la paroi inférieure de l'utricule et du saccule, l'ampoule et les parois membraneuses du canal semi-circulaire postérieur.

L'absence de suppléance explique que toute souffrance vasculaire soit à l'origine de lésions vestibulaires qui, en fonction du siège lésionnel, se traduiront par des troubles de l'audition et/ou des troubles de l'équilibre.

PLAN DU SITE  |  MENTIONS LÉGALES  |  CONTACT  |  COPYRIGHT 2009 © SIRV