SIRV
International Society for Vestibular Rehabilitation

vestib.org, the site for Vestibular Reeducation

Liquid compartments

The vestibular receptors are located in the centre of the membranous labyrinth and are bathed in 2 different types of liquid, the perilymph and the endolymph.

These liquids of the inner ear are essential for hearing and equilibration.

  • The perilymph, found in the interior of the osseous labyrinth and in contact with the basal face of the hair cells, has a composition similar to that of a plasma untrafiltrate (Na+ = 140 mEq; K+ = 3 mEq) with a negligible osmotic pressure.
  • The endolymph, secreted by specialised epithelial structures, the vascular striae in the cochlea  and the dark cells, located on both sides of the sensory cells of the ampullary crests, is a liquid with a low protein and sodium content (15 mEq), rich in potassium (144 mEq), with a high osmotic pressure (+80 mV). It is in contact with the apical and cilia side of the hair cells.
  • The endolymph plays an important role in the physiology of the vestibular hair cells.

If the concentration of calcium in the endolymph is less than 20 umol, the calcium channels of the sensory cells do not open, stopping therefore the transformation of mechanical energy in to an electrical signal.

SITE MAP  |  LEGAL INFO  |  Contact  |  COPYRIGHT 2009 © SIRV

SIRV
Société Internationale de Réhabilitation Vestibulaire

vestib.org le Site de la Rééducation Vestibulaire

Les Compartiments Liquidiens

Les récepteurs vestibulaires sont situés au sein du labyrinthe membraneux qui baigne entre 2 milieux liquidiens, la périlymphe et l'endolymphe.

 

Ces liquides de l'oreille interne sont essentiels à l'audition et à l'équilibration.

  • La périlymphe, située à l'intérieur du labyrinthe osseux et en contact avec la face basale des cellules ciliées, a une composition proche d'un ultrafiltrat plasmatique (Na+ = 140 mEq; K+ = 3 mEq) avec une pression osmotique nulle.
  • L'endolymphe, sécrétée par des structures épithéliales spécialisées, la strie vasculaire dans la cochiée et les cellules sombres, situées de part et d'autre des cellules sensorielles des crêtes ampullaires, est un liquide pauvre en protéines et en sodium (15 mEq), riche en potassium (144 mEq), avec une pression osmotique élevée (+80 mV). Elle est en contact avec la face apicale, ciliée, des cellules ciliées.
  • L'endolymphe joue un rôle important dans la physiologie des cellules vestibulaires ciliées.

Si la concentration de calcium dans l'endolymphe est inférieure à 20 umol, les canaux calciques des cellules sensorielles ne s'ouvrent pas, s'opposant alors à la transformation de l'énergie mécanique en signal électrique.

PLAN DU SITE  |  MENTIONS LÉGALES  |  CONTACT  |  COPYRIGHT 2009 © SIRV