SIRV
International Society for Vestibular Rehabilitation

vestib.org, the site for Vestibular Reeducation

Rehabilitation of a Benign Paroxysmal Positional Vertigo (BPPV) of the Posterior SCC (Example)

Alain SEMONT

Background: At the end of the 1970s, a combination of circumstances resulted in a manoeuvre being carried out on a subject complaining of positional vertigo. The outcome was “miraculous” – the patient was asymptomatic and the vertigo was impossible to reproduce. Repeating the same manoeuvre on other subjects also suffering from the same complaint gave the same results. These findings gave rise to a technique, which after fine-tuning and additional research became known as the liberatory manoeuvre and then later, the Semont manoeuvre. This manoeuvre is widely used by vestibular therapists as well as by the ENT community all over the world. What is the situation in 2005?

 

Physiopathology: BPPV is a transient rotary vertigo (lasting about 25 seconds) that occurs when the head is placed in a particular position. The vertigo disappears if head position is maintained and it can be reproduced at will. It manifests itself as a torsional nystagmus beating toward the lower ear. The nystagmus peters out after paroxysm, and inverts when the subject is back in an upright position.

 

Functional explorations show no major anomalies except if the BPPV appears on an earlier vestibulopathy or, when post-traumatic, is associated with a vestibular lesion. In most cases, when the BPPV is idiopathic, a slight asymmetry can be observed which disappears following treatment. RCT generally shows a slight irritation that is ipsilateral to the BPPV.

 

When this manoeuvre was discovered, the only hypothesis available at that time was that of SHUKNECHT who called it cupulolithiasis. But this hypothesis was not overly satisfactory. EPLEY employed the term canalolithiasis, while at the end of the 1980s, Th. BRANDT wrote that if the Semont Manoeuvre worked, it was because the debris was located in the canal rather than on the utricular side of the cupula. Presently, thanks to live demonstrations by David POHL in Australia and Lorne PARNES in Canada, we know that it is caused by an egg-shell coloured aggregate moving about the posterior semicircular canal. When the aggregate is gently tapped using a blunt instrument, it disintegrates and turns into a sludge. The aggregate consists of calcium carbonate crystals held together with proteins. This binding agent renders the aggregate somewhat gluey.

 

This information enables us to understand a number of findings discovered during provocation manœuvres or during the therapeutic manoeuvre.

 

The fact that the aggregate disintegrates explains why the Brandt and Daroff dispersion procedures rendered the patient asymptomatic but did not stop it from reoccurring. The same goes for the exercises prescribed by M. NORRE.

 

The fact that the aggregate is somewhat gluey explains the variability of the latent periods as well as, in certain cases, the difficulty in reproducing the vertigo. This also explains why manoeuvres sometimes have to be repeated to induce a therapeutic nystagmus.

 

The quite substantial size of the aggregate also explains why mistakes in manipulation or mistaking the side are responsible for lesions to the cupula. Nowadays, unless there is evidence to the contrary, canalolithiasis appears to be the most logical explanation of benign paroxysmal positional vertigo. This however does not mean that cupulolithiasis should be dismissed.

 

Method: Experience has shown us that the success of therapeutic manoeuvres is closely tied to the quality of therapy preparation.

 

We suggest avoiding, as far as possible, the use of too many diagnostic manoeuvres. Firstly for patient comfort: numerous provocation procedures cause nausea and reduce their tolerance as treatment continues.

 

How to determine which side? Having checked for the absence of spontaneous nystagmus in all gaze positions, all that is required, in the majority of cases, is to lay the subject down on their back, firmly but without excessive force, with the head positioned slightly lower than the body (but not so far as to be in the Rose position). After a variable latent period, a torsional nystagmus is observed, although sometimes a simple drifting of the eyeball as if the torsional nystagmus was about to occur. The direction of the fast phase nystagmus indicates the affected side. After the nystagmus disappears, the subject is returned to a standing position, the head slightly down-turned, to check for nystagmus inversion.

 

If lying the patient down on their back has no effect, turn the head 45° to one side:
- either nystagmus is observed and we find ourselves in the earlier situation
- or nothing happens and the head is turned to the other side:
- nystagmus is observed and we find ourselves back in the starting situation
- nothing happens and the patient is returned to the seated position.

 

If when returning the subject to the standing position nystagmus is observed, do not forget that it is an inversion and that the nystagmus beats to the opposite side to that of the affected ear. If these different manoeuvres have no effect, move on to the DIX & HALLPIKE manoeuvres.

 

It is worth noting that nystagmus inversion is a significant factor. Indeed, it shows, as with the onset of nystagmus, the shifting of the aggregate in the canal in the direction of the endolymphatic current. The absence of nystagmus inversion calls for due caution and it should not be forgotten should the liberatory manoeuvre have no effect. Likewise, our goal is not to aggravate the nystagmus by fatigue with repeated diagnostic manoeuvres. We do not consider this to be a necessary element.

 

The liberatory manœuvre: it is assumed that the side is known and that the nystagmus parameters are present and have been verified.
The following example is for BPPV simulation of the RIGHT side.

 

The subject is seated in the middle of the examination table, their legs dangling, so that the same amount of space is available on either side of the subject. We begin by lying the patient down on their left shoulder, the head at a slight angle, having angled the head 45° upwards for safety (checking for the absence of nystagmus) the head is then turned 45° downwards.

 

Explanation: In this position, the right SCC is on a vertical plain and the debris, while regrouping, migrates towards the ampulla. One would expect there to be no more nystagmus so the subject is then gently returned to the sitting position with their head in the upright position. Then we lie them down again on their right shoulder, the head in any position, as soon as downards “rolling” nystagmus presents itself, the head is turned upwards at a 45° angle. The nystagmus becomes more pronounced, the patient resists. We wait for the nystagmus to disappear.

 

Explanation: The debris that had regrouped in the ampulla gravitates towards the lowest part of the SCC causing an endolymphatic current which in turn causes a movement of the cupula towards the canal. This movement of debris produces the nystagmus. The movement of the head from any position through 45° in an upwards direction is going to increase the speed of the endolymphatic current because of the direction of the canal, "from a slight incline to a vertical position" and facilitate the migration of the debris.
Once the nystagmus has disappeared, the head is brought back to the upright position and then with a firm, brisk movement, but not violently, the subject is brought back to the lying position but this time onto the opposite side, their left shoulder.

 

Explanation: If the head remains turned upwards at a 45% angle (in line with the canal) the inertia of the aggregate when the therapeutic manoeuvre begins will cause it to gravitate in the opposite direction, in other words towards the ampulla instead of towards the canal. Bringing the head upright, the force applied to the aggregate at the point of initial acceleration will adhere it to the wall of the canal where it will remain throughout the whole process until the opposite position is reached.
Once the destination is reached and after a variable latent period, therapeutic nystagmus is observed. As soon as it appears, the subject’s head is turned downwards at a 45° angle.

 

Explanation: In the target position, the part of the SCC that was at the lowest point is now at the highest point. The forces that attached the debris to the wall of the canal disappear. The debris continues to migrate along the slope of the canal towards the crus commune with an endolymphatic movement in the same direction as that of the start. This explains why the therapeutic nystagmus beats in the same direction as the initial nystagmus. As with the starting position, the 45º downward rotation of the head will increase the angle of the slope and facilitate movement of the debris.
The subject is then left for ten minutes in the left-lateral decubitus position with their head turned downwards at a 45° angle.

 

Explanation: Depending on the nature of the protein bonding, the aggregate might disintegrate or fracture during the manoeuvre. Once this is finished, it can be accepted that only sludge will remain. The movement of this sludge towards the exit of the SCC and into the utricle does not happen at the same speed as the movement "en bloc" as at the start of the manoeuvre. For safety reasons, it is best to take every precaution so that the canal empties completely and therefore reduce the relapse rate.
After a period of rest, the subject is gently returned to the seated position with the head fully upright. Sometimes the subject experiences a strong sensation of being thrown forward and reacts by throwing themselves backwards. So the subject must be held firmly when returning to the seated position and be ready for any eventuality should this arise.

 

Explanation: What happens to the debris is unknown. The nystagmus shifts along the SCC. On the hypothesis that the aggregate disintegrates, the subject is left in the lying position, but the opposite might happen; there might be a shift "en bloc " and when the crus commune is almost vertical, when returned to the sitting position, the shift of debris through the latter towards the utricle will cause an endolymphatic current in both posterior and anterior SCC. These two canals work in opposite directions and are responsible for the sensation of vertical movement caused y the stimulation of both canals simultaneously. Moreover, it is not a torsional nystagmus that is observed but rather an inferior vertical nystagmus with, sometimes, a horizontal component beating towards the affected ear.

 

Regardless of whether the event described above occurs or not, the subject is not allowed to leave believing that they are cured. It is best to prevent any ill-advised endeavour on their part upon their return home. The subject is slowly returned to the original starting position facing upwards at a 45° angle to verify that there is nothing left, but if there is a little something left, the manoeuvre is immediately repeated to complete the emptying of the canal. Whatever happens in the starting position, the manoeuvre described above is repeated. Sometimes, when repeating the manoeuvre, therapeutic shaking is sometimes observed indicating that the canal had not been fully emptied.
After the second manoeuvre, the subject is asked to maintain their head rigorously in the vertical position until the following session a week later. They are not asked to do this to ensure the success of the therapeutic manoeuvre but rather to decrease, as far as possible, the relapse rate.

 

Explanation: let us keep in mind that aggregate disintegrates and becomes sludge. It is fair to say therefore that part of the sludge might still find itself in the end portion of the SCC and continues to empty out during an indeterminate period of time. If your subject positions their head so that the sludge moves in the opposite direction towards the SCC, vertigo will reappear as soon as aggregate regroups.
One week later, all provocation manoeuvres are repeated and in more than 92% of cases, the subject is asymptomatic. Nonetheless, they might note a floating sensation or instability. For the majority of cases, this sensation disappears over the course of the following week.

 

Explanation: when the SCC empties into the utricle, the debris falls as rain onto the utricular macula, modifying the symmetry between the two utricular maculae. This effectively gives the impression of instability when walking and sometimes gives the impression, once lying down, of being on a water mattress.

 

Conclusion: When every precaution has been taken, when all the signs point to and enable one to conclude that it is a BPPV, the success rate stands at around 100%. It must not however be forgotten that certain infiltrating tumours can mimic a BPPV. Should this be the case, no therapeutic nystagmus is produced and the manœuvre has no effect. With experience, it can be noted that these subjects have a different nystagmus with a greater vertical component than normal, with projectile vomiting. But it should be acknowledged that it is more a case of phenomenology than anything else, much more a posteriori than an a priori differential diagnostic capacity. All of which is to say that if the manoeuvre is unsuccessful after two or three repetitions, but never more, a more cautious approach would be to start the examinations afresh.

 

SITE MAP  |  LEGAL INFO  |  Contact  |  COPYRIGHT 2009 © SIRV

SIRV
Société Internationale de Réhabilitation Vestibulaire

vestib.org le Site de la Rééducation Vestibulaire

Réhabilitation d'un Vertige Positionnel Paroxystique Benin (VPPB) du CSC Postérieur (Exemple)

Alain SEMONT

Historique : A la fin des années 70 un concours de circonstances oblige à faire un geste sur un sujet ayant une doléance de vertige de position. Le résultat est "miraculeux" le malade est asymptomatique et il est impossible de reproduire le vertige. La répétition de ce geste sur d'autres sujets porteurs de la même affection amène les mêmes résultats. Cette observation est à l'origine d'un travail qui, après optimisation et recherche, s'est appelé Manœuvre libératoire puis Manœuvre de Sémont. Ce geste est largement utilisé par les rééducateurs vestibulaires et les communautés O.R.L. du monde entier. Qu'en est-il en 2005 ?

 

Physiopathologie : Le VPPB est un vertige rotatoire d'une durée brève (25 secondes) provoqué par une position particulière de la tête dans l'espace. Ce vertige s'épuise si la position est conservée ; il est reproductible à volonté. Il est objectivé par la présence d'un nystagmus torsionnel battant vers l'oreille basse. Ce nystagmus s'épuise après être passé par un paroxysme et s'inverse lors du retour à l'orthostatisme.

 

Les explorations fonctionnelles ne montrent pas d'anomalies importantes sauf si le VPPB apparaît sur une vestibulopathie plus ancienne ou bien (dans les atteintes post-traumatiques) associé à une lésion du vestibule. Dans la majorité des cas, lorsque le VPPB est idiopathique on peut observer une légère asymétrie qui disparaît après traitement. L'ERI montre en général un petit syndrome irritatif ipsi latéral au VPPB.

 

Lors de la découverte de cette manœuvre la seule hypothèse disponible était celle apportée par SHUKNECHT et appelée cupulolithiase. Cette hypothèse n'était pas très satisfaisante. EPLEY a utilise le terme de canalolithiase, Th. BRANDT à la fin des années 80 écrit que si la manœuvre de Sémont marche c'est parce que les débris sont dans le canal et non sur le versant utriculaire de la cupule. Aujourd'hui grâce aux démonstrations in vivo de David POHL en Australie et de Lorne PARNES au Canada nous savons que la cause est un amalgame couleur coquille d'œuf qui se promène dans le canal semi-circulaire postérieur. Lorsque l'on frappe délicatement cet amalgame avec un instrument mousse il se délite et se transforme en boue. L'amalgame est constitué de cristaux de carbonate de calcium liés par des protéines. Ce liant rend l'amalgame plus ou moins collant.

 

Ces informations permettent de comprendre plusieurs faits observés lors des manœuvres de provocation ou lors de la manœuvre thérapeutique.

 

Le fait que l'amalgame se délite explique pourquoi les manœuvres de dispersions de Brandt et Daroff rendaient le malade asymptomatique mais n'évitaient pas la récidive. Idem pour les exercices de M. NORRE.

 

Le fait que l'amalgame soit plus ou moins collant permet de comprendre la variabilité des temps de latence ainsi que parfois la difficulté dans la reproductibilité du vertige. Ceci permet aussi de comprendre pourquoi il est parfois nécessaire de multiplier les manœuvres pour obtenir le nystagmus thérapeutique.

 

La taille, assez conséquente, de l'amalgame permet aussi de comprendre pourquoi les abus manipulatoires ou les erreurs de coté sont responsables de lésions de la cupule.

Aujourd'hui la canalolithiase semble acquise et semble être, jusqu'à preuve du contraire, l'explication la plus logique du vertige positionnel paroxystique bénin.

Ceci ne veut pas dire pour autant que la cupulolithiase doit être systématiquement rejetée.

 

Méthode : L'expérience nous a appris que le succès du geste thérapeutique était étroitement lié à la qualité de la préparation de celui-ci.

 

Nous suggérons d'éviter le plus possible un trop grand nombre de manœuvres provocatrices. Tout d'abord pour le confort du malade: de nombreuses provocations engendrent des nausées et diminuent la tolérance à la poursuite du traitement.

 

Comment déterminer le côté ? : après avoir vérifié l'absence de nystagmus spontané dans toutes les positions du regard il suffit simplement, dans la majorité des cas, de coucher le sujet sur le dos, assez fermement, sans brutalité, avec la tête légèrement plus basse que le corps.( Sans pour autant le mettre en position de Rose.) Après un temps de latence variable on voit apparaître un nystagmus torsionnel, parfois une simple dérive du globe oculaire comme si le nystagmus torsionnel allait arriver. La direction de la phase rapide du nystagmus indique le coté malade. Après épuisement du nystagmus on ramène le sujet à l'orthostatisme, la tête légèrement fléchie, pour vérifier l'inversion du nystagmus.

 

Si le fait de coucher le sujet sur le dos ne provoque rien on tourne la tête de 45° sur un côté:
- soit le nystagmus apparaît et on se retrouve dans la situation précédente
- soit il ne se passe rien et on tourne la tête sur l'autre coté :
- le nystagmus apparaît et on se retrouve dans la situation de départ
- il ne se passe rien et on ramène le sujet en position assise.

 

Si au retour à l'orthostatisme apparaît un nystagmus ne pas oublier qu'il s'agit d'une inversion et que le nystagmus bat du coté opposé à l'oreille malade.

Si ces différentes manœuvres n'ont rien provoqué on passe alors aux manœuvres de DIX et HALLPIKE.

 

Il nous semble nécessaire de souligner que l'inversion du nystagmus est un paramètre important. En effet il matérialise, autant que le nystagmus initial, le déplacement de l'amalgame dans le canal en fonction du sens du courant endolymphatique. L'absence d'inversion du nystagmus doit inciter à la prudence et ne doit pas être oublié s'il y a échec, en suivant, de la manœuvre libératoire. De même nous ne recherchons pas la fatigabilité du nystagmus par la répétition des manœuvres provocatrices. Cet élément ne nous parait pas indispensable.

 

La manœuvre libératoire : Le côté est supposé connu, les paramètres du nystagmus présents et vérifiés.

L'exemple qui suit sera pour une simulation de VPPB du côté DROIT.

 

On assied le sujet au milieu de la table d'examen, jambes pendantes, de manière à avoir autant de place de part et d'autre du sujet. On commence par le coucher sur son épaule gauche, la tête légèrement déclive, après avoir mis la tête 45° vers le ciel par sécurité (vérification qu'il n'y a pas de nystagmus) on tourne la tête 45° vers le bas.

 

Explication : Dans cette position le CSC droit est dans un plan vertical et les débris migrent, tout en se regroupant, vers l'ampoule.

On attend qu'il n'y ait plus de nystagmus puis on ramène doucement le sujet en position assise tête droite. Puis on le couche sur son épaule droite, la tête est en position indifférente, dés l'apparition du nystagmus "roulant" vers le bas on tourne la tête 45° vers le ciel. Le nystagmus prend de l'ampleur, le malade se défend. On attend que le nystagmus s'épuise.

 

Explication : Les débris qui étaient regroupés dans l'ampoule migrent dans la partie la plus basse du CSC en provoquant un courant endolymphatique qui va provoquer un mouvement de la cupule vers le canal. Ce mouvement des débris génère le nystagmus. Le mouvement de la tête de la position indifférente vers 45° vers le ciel va augmenter la vitesse du courant endolymphatique par l'orientation du canal "d'une position en pente douce vers une position verticale" et faciliter la migration des débris.

Une fois le nystagmus épuisé on ramène la tête en position indifférente puis d'un geste ferme, rapide, sans brutalité on emmène notre sujet sur le latérocubitus opposé donc sur son épaule gauche.

 

Explication : Si on garde la tête tournée de 45° vers le ciel (dans le plan du canal) l'inertie de l'amalgame au moment où le geste thérapeutique démarre va le faire partir en sens inverse soit vers l'ampoule et non vers le canal. En ramenant la tête en position indifférente la force appliquée sur l'amalgame au moment de l'accélération du départ du geste va le plaquer sur la paroi du canal et l'y conserver pendant toute la durée du trajet jusqu'à la position opposée.

Une fois arrivé à destination après un temps de latence variable le nystagmus thérapeutique va apparaître. Dés qu'il apparaît on tourne la tête du sujet 45° vers le bas.

 

Explication : Dans la position de destination la partie du CSC qui était la plus basse devient la plus haute. Les forces qui plaquaient les débris sur la paroi du canal disparaissent. Les débris continuent de migrer selon la pente du canal vers le crus commun selon un mouvement endolymphatique de même direction que celui du départ. Ceci explique que le nystagmus thérapeutique soit de même direction que le nystagmus initial. Comme pour la position de départ la rotation de la tête 45° vers le bas va augmenter la pente et faciliter la migration des débris.

On laisse le sujet dans la position latérocubitus gauche tête tournée 45° vers le bas pendant une dizaine de minutes.

 

Explication : En fonction de la nature du liant protidique l'amalgame peut se déliter ou se fracturer pendant le geste. Celui-ci terminé on peut accepter qu'il n'y ait plus que de la boue. Le déplacement de cette boue vers la sortie du CSC dans l'utricule ne se fait pas à la même vitesse que le déplacement "en bloc" du début du geste. Par sécurité il vaut mieux prendre toutes les précautions pour que le canal se vide en totalité et ainsi diminuer le pourcentage de récidives.

Après le temps de repos on ramène doucement le sujet en position assise tête bien verticale. Il arrive parfois que le sujet ait une violente sensation d'être poussé en avant et réagisse en se jetant en AR. Il est nécessaire lors de ce retour à la position assise de tenir le sujet fermement et de se préparer à l'éventualité d'un tel événement.

 

Explication : On ne connaît pas le devenir des débris. Le nystagmus objective leur migration tout le long du CSC. Dans l'hypothèse ou l'amalgame se délite on laisse le sujet couché, mais l'inverse peut se produire; il peut y avoir une migration "en bloc" et au moment ou le crus commun devient presque vertical, lors de la remise en position assise, la migration des débris à travers celui-ci vers l'utricule va provoquer un courant endolymphatique dans deux CSC: le postérieur et l'antérieur. Ces deux canaux fonctionnent en sens inverse et sont responsables de mouvements verticaux d'où cette sensation provoquée par la stimulation de deux canaux à la fois. On n' observe d'ailleurs pas de nystagmus torsionnel mais plutôt un vertical inférieur avec parfois une composante horizontale battant vers l'oreille malade.

 

Après avoir attendu qu'il y ait eu ou qu'il n'y ait pas eu l'événement décrit on ne laisse pas repartir le sujet en lui disant qu'il est guéri. Il vaut mieux prévenir toute tentative inconsidérée de sa part une fois rentré chez lui. On retourne lentement dans la position de départ avec la tête 45° vers le ciel pour pouvoir vérifier qu'il n'y a plus rien ou bien que s'il reste encore un petit quelque chose on fasse d'emblée le geste qui va terminer de vider le canal. Quoiqu'il se passe dans la position de départ on refait une manœuvre comme elle vient d'être décrite. Il arrive parfois qu'en refaisant la manœuvre on observe encore quelques secousses thérapeutiques montrant que le canal n'était pas totalement vidé.

Après ce second geste on demande au sujet de rester la tête rigoureusement verticale dans l'espace jusqu'à la séance suivante une semaine plus tard. Cette requête n'est pas faite pour assurer le succès du geste thérapeutique mais pour diminuer autant que faire se peut le pourcentage de récidives.

 

Explication : on conserve présent à l'esprit la notion d'un amalgame qui se délite et se transforme en boue. On peut donc accepter que une partie de cette boue puisse être encore dans la partie terminale du CSC et continue encore à se vider pendant un temps indéterminé. Si notre sujet met la tête dans une position telle que la boue part en sens inverse vers le CSC le vertige réapparaîtra dés qu'elle se sera ré amalgamée.

Une semaine plus tard on reprend toutes les manœuvres provocatrices et dans plus de 92% des cas le sujet est sans signes. En revanche il peut arriver qu'il ait la sensation de flotter ou d'être instable. Cette sensation disparaît dans la majeure partie des cas dans la semaine qui suit.

 

Explication : lorsque le CSC se vide dans l'utricule les débris tombent en pluie sur la macule utriculaire modifiant la symétrie de masse entre les deux macules utriculaires. Ceci donne effectivement une sensation d'instabilité à la marche et parfois même la sensation, une fois couché, d'être sur un matelas d'eau.

 

Conclusion : Lorsque toutes les précautions sont prises, lorsque tous les signes correspondent à ce qui permet d'affirmer qu'il s'agit d'un VPPB le pourcentage de succès est voisin de 100%. Il ne faut cependant pas oublier que certaines tumeurs infiltrantes peuvent mimiquer un VPPB. Dans ce cas il n'y a pas de nystagmus thérapeutique et la manœuvre est sans effet. Avec l'expérience on note chez ces sujets un nystagmus différent avec une composante verticale plus importante que la normale, avec des vomissements en jet. Mais il faut reconnaître qu'il s'agit là beaucoup plus de phénoménologie qu'autre chose, beaucoup plus de "a posteriori" que véritablement d'une capacité diagnostique différentielle a priori. Tout ceci pour dire qu'en cas de non-succès du geste et malgré sa répétition deux ou trois fois mais jamais plus il est plus prudent de reprendre à zéro les investigations.

PLAN DU SITE  |  MENTIONS LÉGALES  |  CONTACT  |  COPYRIGHT 2009 © SIRV