SIRV
International Society for Vestibular Rehabilitation

vestib.org, the site for Vestibular Reeducation

Rehabilitation of a Benign Paroxysmal Positional Vertigo (BPPV) of the Horizontal SCC (Example)

Alain SÉMONT


A priori there is nothing to tell us if a patient telling us about a positional vertigo has developed canalolithiasis of the external canal. Only the appearance of a horizontal nystagmus during provocation manoeuvres tells is that the lithiasis is located in the horizontal canal.
Unfortunately, the direction of the nystagmus does not indicate its location. In fact, the nystagmus could be either geotropic or ageotropic.
 
Explanation: It should be remembered that the horizontal canals work complementarily to each other. Similarly, priority information is that stemming from the movement of the cupula towards the utricle.
In a position with the head turned to the side at a 45° angle or more, which can be produced with a DIX and HALLPIKE provocation manoeuvre, there are a number of possibilities:
 
- If the nystagmus is geotropic, this means that the amalgam is in the posterior part of the canal. For an amalgam located in the lowest canal, it descends into the lowest part of the arch, and as such pushes the cupula towards the utricle. BUT, the same nystagmus will be produced by an amalgam located in the posterior part of the highest canal, migrating towards the exit of the canal and producing a deflection of the cupula towards the branch of the canal.
- If the nystagmus is ageotropic, with the same head position, in other words, the amalgam is in the anterior half of the canal. This positions it close to the ampulla of the lowest canal, and migrating towards the lower portion of the arch will cause the cupula to move towards the canal. Similarly, if the amalgam is in the anterior part of the canal of the highest ear; the amalgam, as it migrates towards the ampulla, is going to push the cupula towards the utricle producing a nystagmus beating towards the top ear.
- In the latter scenario, sometimes the migration of debris is such that it is deposited onto the cupula, causing a nystagmus that will not fade away while this position is maintained. The movements of both debris and cupula result in cupulolithiasis.
 
Once we have observed the direction of the nystagmus, it is a good idea, in order to determine which ear is causing it, to bring the subject back to a sitting position, to bend their head forward until the horizontal canals are on a vertical plain. In this case, and only in this position, the debris is going to migrate, pushing the cupula towards the utricle and provoking a nystagmus beating towards the side of the affected ear. We wait for the nystagmus to fade away.
 
Armed with the knowledge that the utricular exit from the horizontal canal is smaller that that of the crus commune: the effect of gravity on the debris will not be enough to ensure its migration and to empty the canal. An endolymphatic flux must be produced to expel the debris from the canal. To do this we are going to carry out a “barbecue spit” manoeuvre that requires the participation and the coordination of both the practitioner and the patient.
 
Technique: to better understand the therapeutic manoeuvre, let us take the example of a VP of the left horizontal CSC. We have been able to determine the side by the observation of a left horizontal nystagmus with the subject seated, facing upwards so that the horizontal canal is in the vertical position.
 
Explanation: In this position, the migration of the debris, under the effect of acceleration due to gravity, will be in the direction of the ampulla. During said migration, the cupula will lean towards the utricle. The movement of the cupula towards the utricle corresponds to the physiological direction and will cause a nystagmus on the same side as the solicited cupula.
 
Starting off from the sitting position, with the head facing down, we are going to ask the subject to turn towards the right before lying down on their right hand side. Throughout this movement, the head is maintained in an upward-facing position. Once lying down, they are asked to lie down on their front while the practitioner ensures that the head is always in the same position (this time downward facing).
Explanation: to be able to carry out the “barbecue spit” manoeuvre, the subject must be lying down. To be able to use the force of inertia of the debris and to expel them from the canal, we must add an additional movement of the endolymph. The movement of endolymph makes the ampulla move towards the opening at the exit of the canal. During the transition from the sitting position to the lying down position, the debris must remain grouped together and in close proximity to the ampulla.
 
Now we come to the delicate stage of the therapeutic manoeuvre: we are going to ask the subject to continue with their “barbecue spit” movement until they are lying down on their left hand side. At the moment when the body movement causes the head to turn, we carry out a swift movement of the head in the same direction as body movement. A movement that is going to bring the head from a downward facing position to a 45° position towards the left and upwards.
 
Explanation: the rotation of the head is going to cause the required endolymphatic flow. Once in the final position, the migration of the debris will take place in sync with the endolymphatic flow causing a nystagmus beating in the opposite direction to the initial nystagmus.
 
We are now going to focus exclusively on the nystagmus that is about to appear: it is going to beat towards the right. As soon as the frequency of the nystagmus begins to fade, we are going to turn the head at a 15° angle towards the right. As this is carried out, we are going to see a rise and then a fall in nystagmic frequency. Having made this new observation, the head is then turned an additional 15°, and then again, until it has been moved 30° to the right, but no more.
 
Explanation: the SCC, as the name indicates is semicircular. Depending on the position of the head, the slope of the canal changes. Upon reaching the end position following rotation of the head, the debris is in the vertical part of the canal, at the end of which the slope falls off. The speed of migration of the debris must be maintained along the whole length of the canal. A fall in speed of the movement of the debris is reflected by a fall in the frequency of the nystagmus. Each small additional 15° movement increases the slope of the canal and allows us to maintain a constant speed since the debris is located in a part of the canal which is still vertical, all the way to the exit. The reason why the 30° angle should not be surpassed is simply a safety measure to ensure that the debris that is "lagging behind" do not head of towards the ampulla, aided by the favourable direction of the slope of the canal.
 
The subject is left in this final position for ten minutes.
 
The subject is then put back in the sitting position and asked not to allow their head to lean forward. They can raise their head as much as they like but full flexion is forbidden. They are asked to sleep flat on their backs with a pillow on either side of the head so as not to turn to one side or the other.
 
As with VP of the posterior canal, the patient is asked to come back in a week for a check-up.
 
The success rate of the manoeuvre is comparable to that of the posterior vertical canal.
 
One might wonder about the existence of VPs of the horizontal canal while the natural position to empty the horizontal canal is decubitus, lying down. The answer is simple: the vast majority of subjects who develop a VP of the horizontal canal sleep procubitus, lying down on their front. The remaining minority are subjects who have had a VP of the posterior canal and who were not treated properly or who did not follow the instructions they were provided following the manoeuvre.
 
There are a number of causes behind the increase in the subject population presenting with VPs of the horizontal canal:
- lack of knowledge about the existence of this disorder and above all lack of knowledge about its treatment. Or even the rumour that is generally taken as the truth that there is no effective lifesaving manoeuvre. For many years, an atypical positional nystagmus was believed to be caused centrally. It was best to simply leave it alone.
- the other reason, which we believe to be even more serious is the upsurge in manoeuvres carried out by unskilled individuals, without any former training. We also hear stories about patients who ask for a consultation only after having tried to treat themselves. The consequences of such irresponsible behaviour can sometimes be quite dramatic. Instead of a manoeuvre whose effectiveness is widely acknowledged, it can take days or even weeks of immobility or vestibular reeducation sessions that should never have been needed if everything had been carried out according to the rules. Ever tried asking a patient to try to put their own dislocated shoulder back in place?

SITE MAP  |  LEGAL INFO  |  Contact  |  COPYRIGHT 2009 © SIRV

SIRV
Société Internationale de Réhabilitation Vestibulaire

vestib.org le Site de la Rééducation Vestibulaire

Réhabilitation d'un Vertige Positionnel Paroxystique Benin (VPPB) du CSC Horizontal (Exemple)

Alain SEMONT

A priori rien ne permet de savoir que le malade qui raconte une histoire de vertige de position a développé une canalolithiase du canal externe. Seule, l'apparition d'un nystagmus horizontal lors des manœuvres de provocation permettra de comprendre que la lithiase est dans un canal horizontal.
Malheureusement la direction du nystagmus n'est pas localisatrice. En effet le nystagmus peut être géotrope ou ageotrope.

 

Explication : Il faut se souvenir que les canaux horizontaux travaillent en complémentarité. De même l'information prioritaire est celle donnée par un déplacement de la cupule vers l'utricule.
Dans une position de tête tournée sur le coté de 45° ou plus tel que cela se produit avec une manœuvre provocatrice de DIX et HALLPIKE on peut envisager plusieurs possibilités :

 

- Si le nystagmus est géotrope cela veut dire que l'amalgame est dans la moitié postérieure du canal. Pour un amalgame situé dans le canal le plus bas il descend dans la portion la plus basse de l'arc en poussant la cupule vers l'utricule. MAIS le même nystagmus sera produit par un amalgame situé dans la moitié postérieure du canal le plus haut migrant vers la sortie du canal et produisant une déflexion de la cupule vers le bras du canal.
- Si le nystagmus est agéotrope, pour une même position de la tête, cela veut dire que l'amalgame est dans la moitié antérieur du canal. Celui-ci placé proche de l'ampoule du canal le plus bas et migrant vers la portion basse de l'arc va produire un mouvement de la cupule vers le canal. De même si l'amalgame est dans la partie antérieure du canal de l'oreille la plus haute; l'amalgame en migrant vers l'ampoule va pousser la cupule vers l'utricule produisant un nystagmus battant vers l'oreille haute.
- Dans cette dernière condition il arrive que la migration des débris aille jusqu'à se déposer sur la cupule et provoquer un nystagmus qui ne s'épuise pas tant que la position est maintenue. Le comportement de l'ensemble débris cupule devient celui d'une cupulolithiase.

 

Une fois l'observation faite de la direction du nystagmus il convient, pour déterminer quelle est l'oreille responsable de ramener le sujet assis sur la table, de pencher la tête en avant jusqu'à ce que le plan des canaux horizontaux soit vertical. Dans ce cas et uniquement dans cette position les débris vont migrer en poussant la cupule vers l'utricule et provoquer un nystagmus qui battra du coté de l'oreille malade. On attendra l'épuisement du nystagmus.

 

Sachant que la sortie utriculaire du canal horizontal, en comparaison avec celle du crus commun, est plus petite : la migration des débris sous l'effet seul de la pesanteur ne sera pas suffisante pour vider le canal. Il faudra produire un flux endolymphatique qui permettra d' expulser les débris du canal. Pour ce faire on va faire une manœuvre "en barbecue" qui demande une participation et une coordination de mouvement entre le praticien et le malade.

 

Technique : pour faciliter la compréhension du geste thérapeutique nous prendrons l'exemple d'un VP du CSC horizontal gauche. Nous avons déterminé le coté par l'observation d'un nystagmus horizontal gauche le sujet étant assis le visage face au sol de manière à ce que le canal horizontal soit vertical.

 

Explication : Dans cette position la migration des débris, sous l'effet de l'accélération de la pesanteur, va se faire en direction de l'ampoule. Pendant cette migration la cupule va se déformer vers l'utricule. Le déplacement de la cupule vers l'utricule correspond au sens physiologique et va provoquer un nystagmus ipsi-latéral à la cupule sollicitée.

 

Partant de la position assise visage vers le bas nous allons demander au sujet de se tourner vers la droite pour s'allonger sur le coté droit. Nous accompagnons son mouvement en lui gardant le visage toujours tourné vers le sol. Une fois arrivé à destination nous lui demandons de passer en pro cubitus alors que le praticien conserve toujours la tête dans la même position. (visage vers le bas).
Explication : pour pouvoir effectuer la manœuvre en "barbecue" il faut que le sujet soit allongé. Pour pouvoir utiliser la force d'inertie des débris et les éjecter hors du canal il va falloir additionner mouvement de l'endolymphe et migration des débris. Le mouvement de l'endolymphe devant se faire de l'ampoule vers l'orifice de sortie du canal. Pendant tout le passage de la position assise vers la position couchée il faut que les débris restent groupés et au voisinage de l'ampoule.

 

Arrive alors la phase délicate du geste thérapeutique en tant que tel : nous allons demander au sujet de continuer son mouvement "en barbecue" pour se retrouver en latérocubitus gauche. Au moment ou le mouvement du corps va entraîner la tête nous allons lui imprimer un rapide mouvement dans la sens de la rotation du corps. Mouvement qui va amener la tête de la position visage en bas vers la position visage tourné de 45° vers la gauche et vers le ciel.

 

Explication : la rotation de la tête va provoquer le flux endolymphatique requis. Une fois arrivé à destination la migration des débris va se faire en phase avec le flux endolymphatique provoquant un nystagmus de sens opposé au nystagmus de départ.

 

Nous allons mettre toute notre attention sur le nystagmus qui va apparaître: celui-ci va battre vers la droite. Dés que la fréquence du nystagmus va commencer à diminuer nous allons tourner la tête vers la droite de 15°. Ce faisant nous allons voir la fréquence nystagmique augmenter puis baisser à nouveau. Dés cette nouvelle constatation on tourne encore de 15° et ainsi de suite jusqu'à avoir la tête tournée de 30° vers la droite mais surtout pas plus.

 

Explication : le CSC comme son nom l'indique est un arc de cercle. Selon la position de la tête dans l'espace la pente du canal diffère. Lors de la position d'arrivée après le geste de rotation de la tête les débris sont dans une partie de canal qui est verticale mais dont la fin voit sa pente s'adoucir. Il faut conserver la vitesse de migration des débris pendant tout le parcours du canal. La diminution de la vitesse de déplacement des débris se traduit par une diminution de la fréquence du nystagmus. Chaque petit mouvement de 15° supplémentaire augmente la pente du canal et permet ainsi de conserver la vitesse puisque les débris se trouvent alors dans une partie de canal qui est toujours verticale jusqu'à la sortie. La raison pour laquelle il ne faut pas aller trop loin est simplement une sécurité pour que des débris qui sont "à la traîne" ne repartent pas vers l'ampoule aidés par une orientation favorable de la pente du canal.

 

Nous laissons le sujet dans cette position finale pendant dix minutes.

 

Nous le remettons en position assise en lui demandant de ne pas pencher la tête en avant. Il peut la lever autant qu'il veut mais les flexions sont interdites. Nous lui demandons de dormir sur le dos à plat avec un oreiller de chaque coté de la tête pour ne pas la tourner d'un coté ou de l'autre.

 

Comme pour le VP du canal postérieur le malade est revu à une semaine pour contrôle.

 

Le pourcentage de succès du geste est comparable à celui obtenu pour le canal vertical postérieur.

 

On peut s'interroger sur l'existence de Vps du canal horizontal alors que la position naturelle de vidage du canal horizontal est le décubitus. La réponse est simple : une grande majorité des sujets qui développent un VP du canal horizontal dorment en pro cubitus. L'autre minorité sont des sujets qui ont eu un VP du canal postérieur et qui ont été mal traités ou qui n'ont pas respecté les consignes d'après manœuvre.

 

L'augmentation de la population de sujets présentant des Vps du canal horizontal tient à plusieurs causes :
- l'ignorance de l'existence de cette affection et surtout l'ignorance de la possibilité de traitement. Ou encore la rumeur qui tend à faire croire qu'il n'y a pas de geste salvateur efficace. Pendant longtemps les nystagmus de position atypiques étaient considérés comme ayant une origine centrale. Il valait mieux ne pas y toucher.
- l'autre raison qui nous parait bien plus grave est la recrudescence de gestes faits par des gens incompétents, sans formation préalable. On assiste aussi à des histoires de malades qui consultent après avoir tenté de se traiter eux-mêmes. Les conséquences de ce comportement irresponsable peuvent être dramatiques. On remplace un geste dont l'efficacité n'est plus à démontrer par des jours voire des semaines d'immobilisation ou des séances de rééducations vestibulaire qui n'auraient pas du être pratiquées si tout s'était passé selon les règles. Demande-t-on à un malade de tenter de réduire lui-même une épaule luxée ?

PLAN DU SITE  |  MENTIONS LÉGALES  |  CONTACT  |  COPYRIGHT 2009 © SIRV