SIRV
International Society for Vestibular Rehabilitation

vestib.org, the site for Vestibular Reeducation

Oculomotricity

It is crucial, if we wish to have a comprehensive understanding of the vestibular function as a whole, to carry out an OCULOMOTRICITY EVALUATION. We do not believe that without these tests that a vestibular examination can be considered to be truly complete.
Before dealing with the detailed analysis of the testing, a couple of reminders about physiology might be required.
Binocular sight requires that the position of both maculae must strictly be maintained opposite the target image. This implies a synergy of actions between the different eye muscles. Table 3 contains the different actions of the extra-ocular muscles.
The muscles have a double attachment:

  • For each eye, they are organised in opposing pairs,
  • Between the eyes, they articulate as synergistic couples.

These two coupling systems are governed by the rules for reciprocal innervation (Sherrington’s law and Hering’s law). A summary of these elements appear in figure 21.
All these systems share the same effector pathway. They originate from the pontic region for horizontal movement, and the mesocephalic region for vertical movement.
Conversely, the initiator centres and the pathways that like one to the next are different, depending on whether it is a saccadic, or pursuit eye movements or an optokinetic reflex
The study of saccadic eye movement brings with it a wealth of clinical lessons to be learned. This pre-programmed ballistic eye movement is examined while asking the subject to follow a fleeting LED light, without intermediary trace, from right to left, along an LED ramp, with an amplitude of + /- 20°. The software records the eye movement and facilitates treatment and analysis.
Different parameters have to be examined:

  • The general appearance of the curve allows us to observe an initial saccadic eye movement (re-fixation) which corresponds to 90% of the definitive amplitude. This is followed, around 130 msec. later, by a second saccadic eye movement (corrective) that leads the eye directly to the target.
  • Latency of the saccadic eye movement is a crucial parameter. It equates to the delay between the start of the stimulus and that of the re-fixation saccadic eye movement. This is normally less than 250 msec. This stays the same for peripheral disorders, although latency increases with central disorders (Vitte et al., 1983).
  • The maximum speed of saccadic eye movement should also be examined. It is a direct function of the amplitude. For an amplitude of 40°, maximum speed reaches 400°/sec. This measurement is important as it brings to light  subclinical oculomotor paresis. For example, a disorder of outer-left oculomotor nerve (VI) will result in a slowing down of the saccadic eye movement of the left eye when looking to the left.
  • Precision of the saccadic eye movement is defined as the rapport between the amplitude of the re-fixation saccadic eye movement and the overall amplitude of the stimulus. This is normally over 80%. Remember that this parameter is controlled by the cerebellum.

Slow eye pursuit can be comprehensively analysed using VNG. Stimulus is a slow LED ramp movement (0.4 Hz) delivered with an amplitude of +/-20° in a continuous manner. The subject is asked to focus on the target and follow it using their central or foveal vision).
It must be studies using the traces:

  • The general appearance of the curve should be a smooth pursuit, with no saccadic eye movement therefore,
  • Gain is calculated as the speed of the eye compared to the speed of the target. For normal subjects, this parameter should be over 0.7 (Freyss et al., 1984) and identical from one side to the other.

We believe that the study of the optokinetic nystagmus is essential.
Indeed, ”the optokinetic system is constantly paired with the vestibular system» (Waespe et al., 1977). However, for a comprehensive study, the whole visual field must undergo stimulation (Baloh and Honrubia, 1990). This is why we use total visual field generator  (360°) with mobility along 3 axes. This type of stimulus alone enables us to carry out stimulations in circular per-rotational vection. Other stimuli (flat screen or LED rod, for example) only look at the foveal pursuit system and not the optokinetic system.
Indeed, one should clearly distinguish between a consecutive nystagmus and optokinetic stimulation (foveal pursuit) of a nystagmus in response to the triggering of the optokinetic reflex. The latter is only effective for testing the optokinetic system. This difference can clearly be seen in the trace that appears in the following diagram.

 


Recording eye movement during horizontal optokinetic eye movement (trace by A. Sémont). If we look at the trace below, we note that up to the 12-second mark, the speed of the slow-phase of the nystagmus almost reaches the same value as that of the stimulus, corresponding to the response associated with the optokinetic pursuit system, any longer than that, then the average speed falls. The pursuit system has been replaced by the optokinetic system on its own.

 

 

For our examination we use horizontal and vertical stimuli of 20°/sec. and 40°/sec. respectively. These are provided by a planetarium projector (figure 25) that stimulates the whole visual field. For a speed of 40°/sec., the normal frequency of a nystagmus is 2.9 Hz +/-0.5 while the average speed during the slow phase is 28.7°+/- 4.3 (Vitte et al., 1994).

SITE MAP  |  LEGAL INFO  |  Contact  |  COPYRIGHT 2009 © SIRV

SIRV
Société Internationale de Réhabilitation Vestibulaire

vestib.org le Site de la Rééducation Vestibulaire

Oculomotricité

Il est indispensable, si l'on veut appréhender la fonction vestibulaire dans son ensemble, d'effectuer une ETUDE DE L'OCULOMOTRICITE. Nous ne pensons pas que, sans ces tests, un examen vestibulaire puisse prétendre être réellement complet.

Avant d'aborder l'analyse détaillée des épreuves, quelques rappels physiologiques peuvent être nécessaires.

La vision binoculaire impose de maintenir les deux macula strictement en face de l'image visée. Cela implique une synergie d'action entre les différents muscles oculomoteurs. Nous avons rappelé dans le tableau 3 les différentes actions des muscles extraoculaires.

Les muscles ont un double couplage :
• Au niveau de chaque œil, ils s'organisent en couples antagonistes,
• Entre les deux yeux, ils s'articulent en couples synergiques.
Ces deux systèmes de couplage sont régis par les règles de l'innervation réciproque (loi de Sherrington et loi de Hering). Nous avons résumé ces éléments dans la figure 21.

Tous ces systèmes partagent la même voie effectrice. Elle provient de la région pontique pour les mouvements horizontaux, de la région mésencéphalique pour les mouvements verticaux.

En revanche, les centres initiateurs et les voies de liaison des uns vers les autres sont différents selon qu'il s'agit d'un mouvement de saccade, de poursuite ou du réflexe optocinétique.

L'étude des saccades oculaires est riche d'enseignements cliniques. Ce mouvement balistique pré-programmé est étudié en demandant au sujet de suivre une lumière de diode passant, sans trace intermédiaire, de droite à gauche, sur une rampe de diodes, selon une amplitude de + /- 20°. Le mouvement oculaire est enregistré par le logiciel qui en permet le traitement et l'analyse.

Différents paramètres doivent être étudiés :
• L'aspect général du tracé permet de noter une première saccade (dite de refixation) qui correspond à une amplitude de 90% de l'amplitude définitive. Elle est suivie, environ 130 msec après, d'une deuxième saccade (dite de correction) qui amène l'œil précisément sur la cible.

• La latence de la saccade est un paramètre fondamental. Elle correspond au délai compris entre le départ du stimulus et celui de la saccade de refixation. Elle est normalement inférieure à 250 msec. Restant normale dans les atteintes périphériques, cette latence augmente dans les troubles centraux (Vitte et al., 1983).

• Il doit également être étudié la vitesse maximale de la saccade. Elle est fonction directe de l'amplitude. Pour une amplitude de 40°, la vitesse maximale atteint 400°/sec. Cette mesure est importante car elle permet de mettre en évidence des parésies oculomotrices sub-cliniques. Par exemple, une atteinte du nerf oculomoteur externe (VI) gauche se traduira par un ralentissement des vitesses des saccades de l'œil gauche dans le regard vers la gauche.

• La précision de la saccade se définit comme le rapport entre l'amplitude de la saccade de refixation et l'amplitude globale du stimulus. Elle est normalement supérieure à 80%. Nous rappelons que ce paramètre est sous contrôle cérébelleux.

La poursuite lente oculaire est tout à fait analysable sous VNG. Le stimulus est un mouvement de rampe lent (0,4 Hz) délivré avec une amplitude de +/-20° de façon continue. Il est demandé au sujet de saisir et de suivre cette cible en vision centrale, fovéale).

Il doit être étudié, sur les tracés :
• L'aspect général de la courbe doit être lisse ("smooth pursuit" des anglo-saxons), avec donc une absence de phénomènes saccadiques,

• Le gain se calcule sur le rapport de la vitesse de l'œil par rapport à la vitesse de la cible. Chez les sujets normaux, ce paramètre doit être supérieur à 0,7 (Freyss et al., 1984) et identique d'un côté et de l'autre.

Le nystagmus optocinétique nous paraît d'un intérêt fondamental.

En effet, «le système optocinétique est le partenaire constant du système vestibulaire» (Waespe et al., 1977). Cependant, pour être réellement étudié, il convient d'effectuer une stimulation de tout le champ visuel (Baloh et Honrubia, 1990). C'est pourquoi nous utilisons un générateur en champ visuel total (360°) mobile selon 3 axes. Seul ce type de stimulus permet d'obtenir des stimulations avec vection circulaire per-rotatoire. Les autres stimuli (écran plat ou barre de diodes, par exemple) n'interrogent que le système de poursuite fovéale et non le système optocinétique.

En effet, il convient de bien distinguer le nystagmus consécutif à une stimulation optocinétique (poursuite fovéale) du nystagmus obtenu en réponse à l'engagement du réflexe optocinétique . Ce dernier seul teste effectivement le système optocinétique. Cette différence est bien notée sur le tracé de la figure ci-dessous.

 


Enregistrement de mouvements oculaires lors d'une stimulation optocinétique horizontale (tracé d'A.Sémont). En regardant le tracé inferieur, on peut constater que, jusqu'à 12 secondes, la vitesse de phase lente du nystagmus croit vers une valeur égale à celle du stimulus, cela correspond à la reponse associée du systeme de poursuite optocinétique, au-delà, cette vitesse moyenne diminue. Le systeme de poursuite a laissé place au seul réflexe optocinétique.

 

 

Nous utilisons dans notre protocole des stimuli horizontaux et verticaux de 20 et 40°/sec. Ceux-ci sont délivrés par un planétarium (figure 25), la stimulation se fait donc bien en champ visuel total. Pour une vitesse de 40°/sec, la fréquence normale du nystagmus est de 2,9 Hz +/-0,5 et la vitesse moyenne de phase lente se situe à 28,7°+/- 4,3 (Vitte et al., 1994).

PLAN DU SITE  |  MENTIONS LÉGALES  |  CONTACT  |  COPYRIGHT 2009 © SIRV