SIRV
International Society for Vestibular Rehabilitation

vestib.org, the site for Vestibular Reeducation

Equipment used for vestibular exploration and rehabilitation: High Frequency Compatible Rotatory chair

The rotatory chair is an essential tool for vestibular reeducation. It is a chair whose axis of rotation passes by the vertical axis of rotation of the head. Rotation of the chair should be as smooth as possible. In other words, any resistance should be reduced to a minimum to be able to rotate the chair while expending the least amount of energy, with speeds ranging from 10°/s to over 400°/s at a steady pace.

It should be comfortable, allow the subject to keep still when rotating at high speeds, with a head rest in order to avoid any unnecessary movement. There should be a seatbelt, a foot rest with a gadget to stop the subject’s leg from changing position during high-speed rotations.

It should be mounted onto a stand that provides it with a great deal of stability:

  • regardless of the speed of rotation,
  • regardless of the force required to make it rotate,
  • regardless of the position that the subject is required to be in the chair.

The chair is where the patient will spend the whole session; it is used for the questions and answer sessions, it is used for evaluations and it is used for the reeducation.
Movements during a clockwise rotation clockwise rotation (1): the endolymphatic liquid moves in the opposite direction (2).
The slow phase nystagmus is in the direction of the flow of the liquid (3)
The fast-phase saccadic eye movement (4) in the opposite direction.
The “+” sign indicates the side stimulated during said rotation.
(in Functional Exploration in ENT Courtat et al  Masson Ed.)

The observation of the spontaneous nystagmus (provoked) is carried out using magnifying glasses. These have evolved over time. The first models, or Bartel spectacles, were magnifying glasses used to increase the size of the eye. These developed into Frenzel goggles. These were the same magnifying glasses but mounted into a frame with two small lamps attached on either side to shine light directly onto the eyes. The lamps mounted on the side are not really visible to the subject unless the eye is particularly eccentric. These goggles are supposed to make things more comfortable during observation and thanks to the magnifying effect, eye movements with very little amplitude can be observed. Furthermore, they are supposed to prevent ocular fixation and therefore avoid inhibition of any peripheral nystagmic response.

The miniaturisation and advances made in technology allow us to use a small video-surveillance camera that films in infrared, and is therefore invisible to the eye (Erik ULMER). Adapting these cameras to proper frames and enabling to work total darkness enables us to avoid any form of visual feedback. These video goggles enable us, with the help of a monitor, to observe the eye movements of a subject when all they see is black. This new tool has allowed us to make a great deal of progress in the observation of signals provoked by anomalies in the vestibular chain.
Indeed, the absence of visual feedback results in an increase in the sensitivity of the observation and a decrease in the response threshold to stimulation. Thus the placing of a video mask on the subject when seated will allow us to observe a “downbeat” spontaneous nystagmus which is none other than the consequence of a descending vertical movement undertaken when sitting down. The increased performance of the tools should mean increased levels of expertise of the observer, subject to only coming across subjects with disorders!

This tool has allowed us to perfect an evaluation protocol of the canalo-ocular function. This enables us to state that with VR, we act according to what we see in the moment that the subject is present. This precision in the therapeutic approach enables us to adapt any manipulation to the state of the subject in a more appropriate manner and to "pin" the signs on the symptoms. Said evaluation protocol consists of the following:

  • observation of spontaneous signs in all the position of the gaze,
  • observation of the counter-rolling eye movements,
  • rotatory chair impulse test at constant speed,
  • rapid rotatory head test,
  • reflex control test.


This tool is often part of the equipment used by ENT specialists for oculometry testing. It comprises a metal bar with electroluminescent diodes mounted on top. These diodes are mounted one next to another and are controlled by an EPROM by which we are able to reproduce the different eye movements. These movements are as follows:

  • random (in both time and amplitude) saccadic eye moment,
  • slow eye pursuit movements with speeds of between 10°/s to 90°/s. Pursuit can be sinusoidal or triangular,
  • the ramps; in other words a semi-pursuit in one direction or the other, either sinusoidal or triangular.

This bar is used for the treatment of combined movement of the head and eyes. It can be used in conventional kinesitherapy for the mobilization of the spine using a different route from the one used habitually.

In different research laboratories, or those specialising in the exploration of the vestibular function, the opto-kinetic generator consists of a rotatory chair for exploration within a large drum. Positioned on the wall of the drum are vertical test bars. When the drum begins to rotate around its vertical axis, the subject undergoing examination is presented with a series of alternating black and white vertical bars that the subject has to focus on.

We have already shown that to trigger the optokinetic reflex, the whole visual field has to be stimulated and the subject must be upright before any reflex anomalies manifest themselves. To stimulate the whole visual field, and after a great number of attempts, we commissioned the construction of a so-called planetarium projector to convert the room being used for vestibular exploration and reeducation into a “planetarium”. The planetarium is a ball, perforated with holes with an approximate 7º gap between each one. This angle roughly equates to the angle of the drum tests used in the past. In fact, this value is useful for calculating but is not envisaged for reeducation. The “planetarium” is mounted on a system of three axes that allow for all possible combination of patterns during testing. The speed of rotation of the “planetarium” along its own axis should be able to range from just a couple of degrees a second to 120°/s. The presentation of the tests should be carried out seamlessly, smoothly, regardless of the speed being used. The generator should be able to be positioned in such a way that during eye pursuit testing, gain should be equal to one. The subject should be positioned at a minimum distance of two metres from the nearest screen. The room where stimulation is being carried out should be in complete darkness and the screen, positioned immediately before the eyes of the subject should not have any details that might attract the subject’s attention.

SITE MAP  |  LEGAL INFO  |  Contact  |  COPYRIGHT 2009 © SIRV

SIRV
Société Internationale de Réhabilitation Vestibulaire

vestib.org le Site de la Rééducation Vestibulaire

Matériel utilisé pour l'exploration et la Réhabilitation Vestibulaire : Fauteuil Rotatoire compatible Haute Fréquence

Le Fauteuil Rotatoire est un outil indispensable à la Rééducation Vestibulaire. Il s'agit d'un fauteuil dont l'axe de rotation passe par l'axe vertical de rotation de la tête. La rotation du fauteuil doit être la plus douce possible. Autrement dit les frottements doivent être réduits au minimum afin de pouvoir faire tourner le fauteuil avec le minimum d'énergie à des vitesses variant de 10°/s à plus de 400°/s sans à-coups.
Il doit être confortable, permettre au sujet de se tenir pour supporter les vitesses élevées, avec un appui-tête afin d'éviter à celle-ci tout mouvement inutile. Il doit y avoir une ceinture de sécurité, un cale-pied avec un dispositif permettant d'éviter à la jambe du sujet de quitter sa position pendant les rotations à grande vitesse.

 

Il doit être monté sur un piètement lui autorisant une grande stabilité :

  • quelle que soit la vitesse de rotation,
  • quelle que soit l'impulsion donnée pour le faire tourner,
  • quelle que soit la position que pourrait prendre le sujet dans le fauteuil.

Le fauteuil est l'endroit où se passe toute la séance ; il sert de siège pour les interrogatoires, il est utilisé pour les tests ainsi que pour la rééducation.

Les mouvements lors d'une rotation horaire (1) : le liquide endolymphatique se déplace en sens inverse (2).

La phase lente du Nystagmus se fait dans le sens du courant liquidien (3)

La secousse rapide (4) en sens inverse.

Le signe + indique le côté stimulé lors de cette rotation.

(in Explor.fonctionnelles en orl Courtat et coll.Masson Ed)

 

L'observation du nystagmus spontané ou provoqué se faisait avec des lunettes grossissantes. Ces lunettes ont évolué. Les premiers modèles ou lunettes de Bartels étaient des verres grossissants pour augmenter la taille de l'oeil. Elles ont évolué en devenant les lunettes de Frenzel. Il s'agit toujours des mêmes verres grossissants mais montés sur une monture enveloppante dans laquelle deux petites lampes éclairant l'oeil sont fixées latéralement. Ces lampes montées très latéralement ne sont pas réellement visibles par le sujet pourvu que l'oeil ne soit pas dans une position trop excentrée. Ces lunettes sont censées permettre un plus grand confort d'observation et grâce au grossissement d'observer des mouvements oculaires de petite amplitude. D'autre part elles sont censées empêcher toute fixation oculaire et donc d'éviter l'inhibition de la réponse nystagmique d'origine périphérique.

 

La miniaturisation et l'évolution des technologies ont permis l'utilisation de petite caméra de vidéo-surveillance filmant dans l'infrarouge non visible par l'oeil (Erik ULMER). L'adaptation de ces caméras sur une monture appropriée permettant de travailler dans le noir absolu a permis de s'affranchir de toute forme de retour visuel. Ces lunettes vidéo permettent à l'aide d'un moniteur d'observer les mouvements oculaires d'un sujet alors que celui-ci ne voit que du noir. Cet outil nouveau a permis de faire un grand pas dans l'observation des signes provoqués par une anomalie de la chaîne vestibulaire.
En effet l'absence de retour visuel se traduit par une augmentation de la sensibilité d'observation et une diminution du seuil de réponse à une stimulation. C'est ainsi que la mise en place du masque vidéo sur un sujet, dés qu'il est assis, va permettre d'observer un nystagmus spontané vertical inférieur qui n'est rien d'autre que la conséquence du mouvement vertical descendant effectué pour s'asseoir. L'augmentation des performances de l'outil doit aller de pair avec l'augmentation des compétences de l'observateur sous peine de ne trouver que des sujets pathologiques!

 

Cet outil a permis de mettre au point un protocole d'évaluation de la fonction canalo-oculaire. Ceci permet de dire qu'en R.V. on agit en fonction de ce qu'on voit au moment où le sujet est présent. Cette finesse dans la démarche thérapeutique permet d'adapter le geste à l'état du sujet avec plus de pertinence et de faire "coller" les signes avec les symptômes. Ce protocole d'évaluation comprend :

  • observation des signes spontanés dans toutes les positions du regard,
  • observation des mouvements de contre-rotation oculaire,
  • épreuve rotatoire impulsionnelle à vitesse constante,
  • épreuve de rotation rapide de la tête,
  • épreuve de contrôle du réflexe somato-oculaire axial.

Cet outil est commun avec le matériel utilisé par les O.R.L. pour les tests d'oculométrie. Il s'agit d'une barre métallique sur laquelle sont montées des diodes électroluminescentes. Ces diodes sont montées les unes à côté des autres et sont pilotées par une EPROM de manière à pouvoir reproduire les différents mouvements oculaires.Ces mouvements sont :

  • les saccades aléatoires en temps et en amplitude,
  • les mouvements de poursuite lente avec des vitesses variant de 10°/s à 90°/s. La poursuite peut être sinusoïdale ou triangulaire,
  • les rampes ; c'est-à-dire une demie-poursuite dans un sens ou dans l'autre en sinus ou en triangle.

Cette barre est utilisée pour le traitement des mouvements conjugués de la tête et des yeux. Elle peut être utilisée en kinésithérapie conventionnelle pour mobiliser un rachis à travers un pilotage différent de celui habituellement utilisé.

 

Dans les différents laboratoires de recherche ou d'exploration de la fonction vestibulaire le générateur opto-cinétique était constitué d'un grand tambour au centre duquel se trouve le fauteuil rotatoire d'exploration. Sur la paroi du tambour sont placées des barres de test verticales. Vu par le sujet exploré, ce tambour, lorsqu'il tourne autour de son axe vertical, présente une alternance de barres verticales noires et blanches qu'il doit regarder.

 

Nous avons démontré que pour engager le réflexe opto-cinétique il faut stimuler tout le champ visuel et que le sujet doit être debout pour que ce réflexe montre ses anomalies. Pour stimuler la totalité du champ visuel, ceci après de nombreux essais, nous avons fait fabriquer un planétaire pour transformer la pièce servant de local d'exploration et de rééducation en planétarium. Le planétaire est une boule percée de trous faisant entre eux un angle approximatif de 7°. Cette valeur correspond à peu près à l'angle des tests des tambours de jadis. En fait cette valeur est utile pour des calculs mais pas pour l'exposition à visée rééducative. Ce planétaire est monté sur un système trois axes autorisant toutes les combinaisons possibles dans le pattern de présentation des tests. La vitesse de rotation du planétaire selon son axe propre doit pouvoir aller de quelques degrés par secondes jusqu'à 120°/s. La présentation des tests doit être parfaitement harmonieuse, sans à coups, quelle que soit la vitesse utilisée. Le générateur doit pouvoir être placé de telle manière que lors de la poursuite des tests par l'oeil le gain soit égal à l'unité. Le sujet doit être placé à une distance minimale de deux mètres de l'écran le plus proche. La pièce dans laquelle se fait la stimulation doit être absolument noire et l'écran en face des yeux ne doit pas présenter de détails attirant le regard.

PLAN DU SITE  |  MENTIONS LÉGALES  |  CONTACT  |  COPYRIGHT 2009 © SIRV