SIRV
International Society for Vestibular Rehabilitation

vestib.org, the site for Vestibular Reeducation

Otolithic (counter-rolling) & Cervico-ocular Nystagmus

- Searching for an Otolithic Nystagmus (Evaluation)
The search for a “counter-rolling” nystagmus is the stage immediately following examination. It is the only sign, in healthy subjects, of the utricular and saccular functions.
It is searched for using 30° to 40° inclination, strictly front-facing, of the head towards the right shoulder then left. One observes, during inclination and while maintaining the position, the movement of the eye-balls. We advise the practitioner to identify any anatomical anomaly of the iris, focus on it and follow its movement during the test. It is traditional to describe two components of the compensatory counter-rolling eye movements:
• one kinetic, which takes place during movement and which corresponds to the stimulation of the vertical canals and the otoliths,
• the other, static, which is observed when inclination is maintained (during at least ten seconds). The eye remains "counter rolling", this reflects the state of the otolithic function only.
The gain of this reflex is weak in men (0.1). This test could currently be correlated against the subjective vertical test and especially the otolithic evoked response test. The latter, objectively studies the sacculocolic reflex. It records myogenic potentials at the level of the sternocleidomstoid muscle (SCM) during stimulation by brief, high intensity clicking sounds. This test enables us to objectively detect a potential saccular dysfunction (C. de Waele).
- Search for the Cervico-ocular nystagmus (Evaluation)
This is a supplementary stage to this protocol. The test consists of maintaining the subject’s head perfectly still while rotating the chair first towards the right and then towards the left. With a normal subject, there is no nystagmic response. Nystagmus can only be observed in subjects with bilateral areflexia (Sémont et al.). The response is always in the opposite direction to compensation.

SITE MAP  |  LEGAL INFO  |  Contact  |  COPYRIGHT 2009 © SIRV

SIRV
Société Internationale de Réhabilitation Vestibulaire

vestib.org le Site de la Rééducation Vestibulaire

Nystagmus Otolithique et Cervico Oculaire

- Recherche de Nystagmus d'origine Otolithique (Bilan)

La recherche d'un nystagmus otolithique ("counter-rolling" des anglo-saxons) est l'étape suivante du protocole d'examen. Il s'agit de la seule manifestation, chez le sujet sain, de l'expression de la fonction utriculaire et sacculaire.

Il est recherché par l'inclinaison douce de 30° à 40°, dans un plan strictement frontal, de la tête vers l'épaule droite puis gauche. L'on observe, durant et au maintien de l'inclinaison, le mouvement des lobes oculaires. Nous conseillons au praticien de repérer une anomalie anatomique de l'iris, de la fixer et de suivre son mouvement durant tout le test. Il est classique de décrire à la contre-rotation oculaire compensatoire deux composantes :
• l'une cinétique qui a lieu durant le mouvement et qui correspond à la mise en jeu de la stimulation des canaux verticaux et des otolithes,
• l'autre statique qui est observée lors du maintien (durant 10 secondes au moins) de l'inclinaison. L'œil reste "contre-roté", cela rend compte de l'état de la fonction otolithique seule.

Le gain de ce réflexe est faible chez l'homme (0,1). Ce test peut être actuellement corrélé avec celui de la verticale subjective et surtout celui des potentiels évoqués otolithiques. Ce dernier étudie de façon objective le réflexe sacculo-collique. Il enregistre des réponses myogéniques au niveau des deux muscles sterno-cléido-mastoïdiens lors de la stimulation par des clicks sonores de durée brève et de forte intensité. Ce test permet de détecter objectivement un éventuel dysfonctionnement sacculaire (C. de Waele).

- Recherche du Nystagmus Cervico-Oculaire (Bilan)

C'est une étape supplémentaire dans le protocole. Ce test consiste à maintenir immobile la tête du sujet tout en faisant tourner le fauteuil vers droite puis vers la gauche. Chez le sujet normal, aucune réponse nystagmique n'est notée. Il ne peut être observé un nystagmus que chez le sujet aréflexique bilatéral (Sémont et al.). La réponse obtenue est alors toujours de sens anti-compensatoire.

PLAN DU SITE  |  MENTIONS LÉGALES  |  CONTACT  |  COPYRIGHT 2009 © SIRV