SIRV
International Society for Vestibular Rehabilitation

vestib.org, the site for Vestibular Reeducation

Cell Physiology & Compensation

transducteurs

The hair cell enables the transformation of mechanical energy into nerve activity (mechanotransduction) relayed by the vestibular nerve to the central nervous system. As a result of shifts in the cupula and the otolithic membrane, angular acceleration in the case of the former and linear acceleration in the case of the latter, the cilia move, stimulating the hair cell.

The transformation of mechanical energy into a signal relayed by the vestibular nerve occurs at the apical pole of the sensory receptor cells of the ampullary crest and the utricular and saccular maculae. This apical pole, in contact with the endolymph, has a large number of projections: the stereocilia and the kinocilium.

The stereocilia, numbering between 50 and 120 per cell, are in rows in descending order of height and are positioned on either side of the kinocilium.

The kinocilium, connected to the adjacent stereocilia, triggers the displacement of all the stereocilia and constitutes the polarisation axis for the cilia as a whole.

When the stereocilia move towards the kinocilium, it produces, in the presence of calcium, an opening of the ion channels accompanied by the entry of calcium and potassium into the sensory cell.

This massive influx of calcium causes the almost immediate depolarisation of the cell and the release of a neurotransmitter contained in the vesicles of its basal pole. The neurotransmitter then stimulates the underlying afferent nerve endings that transmit the message to the brain.

 

Retro-control of data capture by the sensory cells
This increased stress brings into play a calcium-dependent regulation procedure, linked to the activities of the contraction system that modulates the message.
To avoid rupturing the stereocilia, following excessive stimulation, the vestibular sensory cells react by directly controlling the information. The mechanism is linked to the activities of the contractile proteins that are present at the apex of the hair cells. Under the effect of calcium, actin, myosin and tropomyosin contract, and allows for adjustments to the current for stereocilia stimulation.

Vestibular hair cells and calcium

canaux ioniques

The vestibular hair cell, the functional unit of balance, converts mechanical stimuli into nerve impulses. This process is linked to changes in membrane permeability, with the transition of calcium and potassium ions from the endolymph to inside the cell. The opening of the calcium channels can not take place unless the concentration of calcium in the endolymph is greater than or equal to 20 µmol. This massive influx of calcium into the hair cell is the source of the depolarisation of its basal pole that signals the release of the neurotransmitters that convey the message to the nerve centres.

afferance

From a patho-physiological perspective, the role of calcium is essential given that any abrupt rise in its concentration inside the hair cell results in over-stimulation, which in turn leads to vertigo.

 

VESTIBULAR COMPENSATION
Malfunction of the labyrinth, the balance sensor, prevents the coherent integration of information, subsequently triggering nystagmus, postural disorders and dizziness.
Vestibular compensation progressively restores balance.
Thanks to a greater understanding of these phenomena, the medical care provided to patients suffering from vertigo has improved.

 

INFLUENCE OF THE NERVE STRUCTURES AS A WHOLE
Vestibular compensation means the capacity of the vestibular system to seemingly recover from unilateral, partial or full vestibular loss. The gravity of the initial symptoms diminishes over time and eventually disappear, a striking example of the plasticity of the central nervous system.

 

The return to proper functioning is due to the influence of the different afferent systems, both central and peripheral, that substitute the damaged vestibular receptors.
Different nerve structures are involved in this substitution process: the spinal chord, the cerebellum, the healthy vestibular apparatus, the vestibular nuclei, cerebral cortex and the visual system. However, the most important sensory substitution comes from the undamaged labyrinth, essential when compensating for dynamic ocular (vestibule-ocular reflex) and postural (vestibule-spinal reflex) syndromes.

 

REBALANCING ELECTRICAL ACTIVITY
The set of symptoms following a unilateral lesion of the labyrinth stems from an imbalance in the electrical activity between the vestibular nuclei on either side. On the damaged side, there is a fall-off in the frequency of discharge, while on the undamaged side, there is a notable increase in the core electrical activity. During the compensation phase, electrical activity becomes practically symmetrical again, as a result of the activities of the nerve structures, especially the cerebellum, which reduce the excitement or inhibit the activity of the vestibular nuclei on the undamaged side, while exciting or disinhibiting those on the damaged side.

SITE MAP  |  LEGAL INFO  |  Contact  |  COPYRIGHT 2009 © SIRV

SIRV
Société Internationale de Réhabilitation Vestibulaire

vestib.org le Site de la Rééducation Vestibulaire

Physiologie Cellulaire et Compensation

transducteurs

La cellule ciliée permet la transformation de l'énergie mécanique en activité nerveuse (mécanotransduction) véhiculée par le nerf vestibulaire au système nerveux central. Sous l'effet des mouvements de la cupule et de la membrane otolithique, en rapport avec des accélérations angulaires pour la première et linéaires pour la seconde, les cils se déplacent et entraînent la stimulation de la cellule ciliée.

 

La transformation de l'énergie mécanique en signal véhiculé par le nerf vestibulaire est réalisée au niveau du pôle apical des cellules sensorielles réceptrices de la crête ampullaire et de la macula de l'utricule et du saccule. Ce pôle apical, en contact avec l'endolymphe, présente un grand nombre d'expansions : les stéréocils et le kinocil.
Les stéréocils, au nombre de 50 à 120 par cellules, sont organisés en rangées décroissantes de part et d'autre du kinocil.
Le kinocil, relié aux stéréocils adjacents, provoque le déplacement de l'ensemble des stéréocils et représente l'axe de polarisation pour l'ensemble des cils.
Lorsque les stéréocils se déplacent vers le kinocil, il se produit, en présence de calcium, une ouverture des canaux ioniques accompagnée de l'entrée de calcium et de potassium dans la cellule sensorielle.
Cette arrivée massive de calcium entraîne la dépolarisation quasi instantanée de la cellule et la libération d'un neurotransmetteur contenu dans les vésicules de son pôle basal. Ce neurotransmetteur va alors stimuler les terminaisons afférentes sous-jacentes à l'origine de la transmission du message au cerveau.


Rétrocontrôle de la prise de l'information par les cellules sensorielles
L'existence de contraintes accrues met enjeu un processus de rétrocontrôle calcium-dépendant, lié à l'action du système contractile qui module le message.
Afin d'éviter une rupture des stéréocils, secondaire à une stimulation excessive, les cellules sensorielles vestibulaires réagiraient en controlant directement l'information. Le mécanisme serait lié à l'action des protéines contractiles, présentes à l'apex des cellules ciliées. Sous l'effet du calcium, l'actine, la myosine et la tropomyosine se contractent, permettant d'ajuster la tension des stéréocils à la stimulation.

Cellules vestibulaires, ciliées et calcium

canaux ioniques

La cellule vestibulaire ciliée, unité fonctionnelle de l'équilibre, transforme un stimulus mécanique en influx nerveux. Ce processus est lié à la modification de la perméabilité membranaire, avec passage d'ions calcium et potassium de l'endolymphe vers l'intérieur de la cellule. L'ouverture des canaux calciques ne peut se faire que Si la concentration en calcium dans l'endolymphe est supérieure ou égale à 20 µmol. Cette arrivée massive de calcium dans la cellule ciliée est à l'origine d'une dépolarisation de son pôle basaI, signal de la libération des neurotransmetteurs qui conduisent le message vers les centres nerveux.

afferance

D'un point de vue physiopathologique, le rôle du calcium est essentiel étant donné que toute élévation brutale de sa concentration à l'intérieur de la cellule cillée se traduira par une stimulation excessive conduisant à un vertige.

 

LA COMPENSATION VESTIBULAIRE

La défaillance du labyrinthe, capteur sensoriel de l'équilibre, empêche l'intégration cohérente des informations, provoquant alors un nystagmus, un trouble de la posture et un vertige.
La compensation vestibulaire rétablit progressivement un état d'équilibre.
Grâce à la meilleure compréhension de ces phénomènes, la prise en charge du patient vertigineux a pu être améliorée.

 

INTERVENTION DE L'ENSEMBLE DES STRUCTURES NERVEUSES
La compensation vestibulaire signifie la capacité de l'appareil vestibulaire à récupérer, en apparence, son fonctionnement à la suite de lésions unilatérales, partielles ou totales, des récepteurs vestibulaires. La gravité de la symptomatologie initiale diminue progressivement puis finit par disparaître, donnant un exemple significatif de la plasticité du système nerveux central.

Le retour à un fonctionnement correct est dû à l'intervention de différents systèmes afférents, aussi bien centraux que périphériques, qui se substituent aux récepteurs vestibulaires lésés.

Différentes structures nerveuses participent à ce processus de substitution: moelle épinière, cervelet, appareil vestibulaire sain, noyaux vestibulaires, cortex cérébral et système visuel. Néanmoins, la substitution sensorielle la plus importante provient du labyrinthe intact, indispensable à la compensation du syndrome dynamique oculaire (réflexe vestibulo-oculaire) et postural (réflexe vestibulo-spinal).

 

REEQUILIBRATION DE L'ACTIVITE ELECTRIQUE
La symptomatologie, consécutive à une lésion unilatérale du labyrinthe, provient d'un déséquilibre dans l'activité électrique des noyaux vestibulaires des deux côtés. Il se produit du côté lésé une réduction de la fréquence de décharge, alors que le côté intact manifeste une remarquable augmentation de l'activité électrique de base. Dans la phase de compensation, l'activité électrique redevient pratiquement symétrique, conséquence de l'action des structures nerveuses, et notamment du cervelet, qui réduisent l'excitation ou inhibent l'activité des noyaux vestibulaires du côté intact, tout en excitant ou en désinhibant ceux du côté lésé.

PLAN DU SITE  |  MENTIONS LÉGALES  |  CONTACT  |  COPYRIGHT 2009 © SIRV