SIRV
International Society for Vestibular Rehabilitation

vestib.org, the site for Vestibular Reeducation

Equilibration

equilibration

Balance comprises body and eye stability. It requires the involvement of a set of mechanisms that modulate the muscular tone to enable changes in posture.

This complex control mechanism, which enables us to maintain our balance despite changes to our posture and movement, could encounter shortcomings when unusual situations occur, for example, by over stimulation or by an ailment (lesions in a peripheral sensory organ, vestibular disorder...).

These shortcomings of the control mechanism manifest themselves as destabilisation of the body, imbalances of the eyes, and a source of vertigo.

 

An overview of the balance system

A multimodal static and dynamic stabilisation system, equilibration calls upon receptor systems that send, information along afferent pathways to the central nervous system and effector systems, comprising oculomotricity and the action of antigravity muscles.
The respective roles of the different system vary greatly from one individual to the next.
But one clear fact is that the vestibular apparatus is permanently involved in adaptation responses, determining the upright position of the head, primarily with respect to posture, as well as assessing any movement thereof.

 

 

The receptor systems

Equilibration is the permanent integration of information transmitted by the 3 receptor systems: sight, the proprioceptive system and the vestibular system.


Sight
Essentially a guiding element for motion.
The eye allows us to focus on an essential point of reference: the position of the individual with respect to the objects that surround them. This spatial information is used to determine posture, balance and direction.
Sight is regulated by the labyrinth. To take away the ability to fix the gaze on a point of reference, and consequently allow us to study nystagmus, all vestibular examinations are carried out in the dark.

 

The proprioceptive system
Comprised, by way of the superficial (cutaneous) and deep (musculotendinous and articular) mechanoreceptors, an essential input for equilibration.
Among the cutaneous mechanoreceptors, those on the soles of the feet play a leading role, sensing the differential pressure between the foot arches. They also allow us to sense any irregularities and unevenness of the ground and to adapt our equilibration reflexes to them.
The deep mechanoreceptors are those found in the bones and joints, muscles and tendons. They send information about the position and the movement of the different segments of the body, and any changes to the tension and pressure of the tendons, muscles and joints.
The role of proprioceptors on the nape of the neck, are of particular importance: they provide essential information to maintain posture and equilibration. Certain balance disorders stemming from trauma, especially cervico-spinal injury, underline their importance.

 

The vestibular system
The vestibule, a component of the inner ear, contains the sensory organs that receive messages and transform them into nerve impulses.
Specialised in detecting linear and rotary accelerations of the head in space, it is actively involved in maintaining direction as well as regulating static and dynamic balance.

 

Effector systems

Information from the 3 sensory systems travels along the ducts to the vestibular nuclei to be analysed and a comparison to be carried out between them as well as with data collected earlier.
When this information is coherent, a compensation reflex movement of the body and eyes is triggered. Vestibulo-ocular reflex allows the eyes to remain stable, with crisp eyesight, and the vestibulospinal reflex, the stabilisation of the body.
Spatial orientation and balance are therefore dependent on 2 motor systems: combined oculomotricity and somatic oculomotricity. The cerebellum ensures coordination.

 

Combined oculomotricity
To facilitate spatial orientation, holding a steady gaze brings into play different reflex arcs that use the effector oculomotor pathway, comprising the oculomotor nuclei, ocular nerves III, IV and VI, which results in a particular combined movement of the eyes, as they try to steady the gaze.

 

Somatic motricity
Both at rest and when moving, maintaining balance is ensured by the contraction of the antigravity striated muscles of the neck, torso and limbs. Maintaining the body upright requires a balance between the inhibition and contraction of the antagonistic muscles. Said control stems from cutaneous, visual, proprioconceptive (joints and tendons) and vestibular information, or from an established programme at different levels of the central nervous system.

 

SITE MAP  |  LEGAL INFO  |  Contact  |  COPYRIGHT 2009 © SIRV

SIRV
Société Internationale de Réhabilitation Vestibulaire

vestib.org le Site de la Rééducation Vestibulaire

Equilibration

equilibration

L'équilibre correspond à la stabilité du corps et du regard.
Il nécessite la mise en jeu d'un ensemble de mécanismes qui modulent le tonus musculaire afin de permettre les adaptations posturales.

Cette régulation complexe, qui permet de maintenir l'équilibre en dépit des changements de position ou des mouvements, peut être prise en défaut dans des situations inhabituelles générées, par exempte, par des stimulations trop fortes ou lors de circonstances pathologiques (lésions d'un organe sensoriel périphérique, atteinte vestibulaire...).

Ce défaut de régulation se traduira alors par une déstabilisation du corps et une instabilité des yeux, source de vertige.

 

Le système de l'équilibre dans son ensemble

Système plurimodal de stabilisation statique et dynamique, l'équilibration fait intervenir des systèmes récepteurs conduisant, par des voies afférentes, l'information au système nerveux central et des systèmes effecteurs, représentés par l'oculomotricité et l'action des muscles antigravitaires.

Le rôle respectif des différents systèmes présente de grandes variations interindividuelles.

Mais un fait certain est que l'appareil vestibulaire participe en permanence aux réactions d'adaptation, en déterminant la position de la tête dans l'espace par rapport à la posture fondamentale, ainsi qu'en appréciant son déplacement.

 

Les systèmes récepteurs

L'équilibration résulte de l'intégration permanente d'informations transmises par 3 systèmes récepteurs : la vision, le système proprioceptif et le système vestibulaire.


La vision
Elle intervient essentiellement comme élément d'orientation et de déplacement dans l'espace.
L'oeil permet de fixer un point de repère essentiel : la position de l'individu par rapport aux objets qui l'entourent. Ces renseignements spatiaux sont exploités pour la posture, l'équilibration et l'orientation.
La vue asservit le labyrinthe. Pour supprimer la fixité du regard sur un point de repère, et permettre l'étude du nystagmus, tous les examens vestibulaires se déroulent dans l'obscurité.

Le système proprioceptif
Il constitue, par l'intermédiaire des mécanorécepteurs superficiels (cutanés) et profonds (musculo-tendineux et articulaires), une voie d'entrée fondamentale de l'équilibration.
Parmi les mécanorécepteurs cutanés, ceux de la plante des pieds jouent un rôle prépondérant, en indiquant la pression différentielle entre les voûtes plantaires. Ils permettent également de percevoir les irrégularités du sol et d'y adapter les réflexes d'équilibration.
Les mécanorécepteurs profonds sont des récepteurs diffus ostéo-articulaires et musculo-tendineux. Ils renseignent sur la position et les mouvements des différents segments du corps et, sur le degré de tension et de pression subi par les tendons, les muscles et les articulations.
Le rôle des propriocepteurs de la nuque est particulièrement important: ils fournissent des informations de premier ordre pour la posture et l'équilibration. Certains troubles de l'équilibre d'origine traumatique, en particulier cervico-rachidiens, soulignent bien leur importance.


Le système vestibulaire
Le vestibule, composant de l'oreille interne, renferme les organes sensoriels qui vont capter les messages et les transformer en influx nerveux.
Spécialisé dans la détection des accélérations linéaires ou rotatoires de la tête dans l'espace, il participe activement au maintien de l'orientation et à la régulation de l'équilibre statique et dynamique.

 

Les systèmes effecteurs

Les informations, issues de ces 3 systèmes sensoriels, sont conduites aux noyaux vestibulaires pour être analysées et comparées entre elles ainsi qu'à des données antérieurement stockées.
Lorsque ces informations sont cohérentes, un mouvement réflexe moteur de compensation du corps et des yeux se déclenche. Le réflexe vestibulo-oculaire permet la stabilisation des yeux, donc une vue nette, et le réflexe vestibulo-spinal, la stabilisation du corps.
L'orientation spatiale et l'équilibre dépendent donc de 2 systèmes moteurs : l'oculomotricité conjuguée et la motricité somatique.
La coordination est assurée par le cervelet.


L'oculomotricité conjuguée
Afin de permettre l'orientation spatiale, l'équilibration du regard met en jeu différents arcs réflexes qui empruntent la voie effectrice de l'oculomotricité, constituée par les noyaux oculomoteurs, les nerfs oculaires III, IV et VI, ce qui se traduit par un mouvement conjugué spécifique des yeux, visant à maintenir la stabilité du regard.


La motricité somatique
Au repos et lors du mouvement, le maintien de l'équilibre est assuré par la contraction des muscles striés antigravitaires du cou, du tronc et des membres. Le maintien du tonus postural nécessite une balance entre l'inhibition et la contraction des muscles antagonistes. Ce contrôle est fonction d'informations cutanées, visuelles, proprioceptives (articulaires, tendineuses), vestibulaires, ou provenant d'un programme établi à différents niveaux du système nerveux central.

PLAN DU SITE  |  MENTIONS LÉGALES  |  CONTACT  |  COPYRIGHT 2009 © SIRV