SIRV
International Society for Vestibular Rehabilitation

vestib.org, the site for Vestibular Reeducation

Neurophysiology of balance

Writing a detailed chapter on the anatomy and physiology of balance in 1999 would be quite conceited on our part. Instead, we prefer to redirect the reader to a number of publications written by other qualified individuals. This said, we do feel that for practical reasons, for a thorough comprehension of the following section it is important to provide an overview of this physiology. In other words, to explain what essential information is required to have a good understanding of both the pathologies and their symptoms. Vestibular rehabilitation after all is nothing more than the manoeuvring of the physiology. Knowing this will enable a better grasp of therapeutic procedures.

 

Some of the following hypotheses of the system operations do not necessarily appear in available literature. These hypotheses are the result of questions asked while monitoring patient behaviour. These hypotheses are part of the approaches employed by different research laboratories working in our particular field. That is to say that although vestibular rehabilitation has now reached a certain level of sophistication, there is a great deal of work still ahead of us and plenty of things to learn.

 

Balance is a function carried out by nerve centres that rely on a periphery system. The periphery system is two-fold, comprising neurosensory afferent activity and neuromotor efferent activity. Issues dealing with neuromotor matters will not be dealt with in this paper. Neuromotor pathologies are responsible for what neurologists call standing and walking disorders. Physiotherapists are well acquainted with the rehabilitation of the different ataxic disorders.

In this function, the neurosensory part, thanks to information received from the peripheral sensors, gives the order while the neuromotor part carries out the order. With regard to the pathologies that interest us, it is assumed that the neuromotor part is apathalogical.

Standing up requires three sensory inputs:

  • Somatosensory input,
  • Visual input,
  • Vestibular input.

 

Somatosensory input primarily consists of the proprioception of the skeletal muscles and osteo-articular sensors. The tibiotarsal and coxofemeral are the principal joints.

Visual input comprises foveal vision used to watch things and peripheral vision used to bring an image that appears in the field and whose interest is significant into view of the fovea. The peripheral retina also contains sensors that capture speed, movement and the visual scene. Together, they allow us to see.

Vestibular input comprises the posterior labyrinth that includes the semicircular canals and the otolithic maculae. There are three semicircular canals per labyrinth. There is an external canal on the Frankfurt plane and two vertical canals. These two vertical axes form a 90° angle. These canals are full of a liquid: endolymph. Each one has a bulge at one end called the ampulla. This ampulla is enclosed by an anhist membrane: the cupula. The base of this cupula rests on a hair epithelium. The hair cells are the mechano-transmitters of information. Together, the canal and cupula form an angular accelerometer. Remember that:

  • the cupula has exactly the same density as the endolymph.
  • cupular movement is caused by changes in pressure of the endolymph on the cupula. In other words, the cupula is not subject to changes in acceleration due to gravity.

 

The otolithic maculae are comprised of calcium carbonate crystals embedded in a gelatinous material on a bed of hair cells. The density of the maculae is much greater than that of the endolymph. When the head moves for example, the macula, under the effect of gravity, shifts forward. This shearing will last as long as the head remains in that position. This shearing movement will move the cilia of the hair cells and will send a message to the nerve centres. The message will indicate a change in the direction of the gravitational accelerator vector with respect to the axis of the head. We even believe that the otolithic system plays a role in inhibiting ascending eye movements.

Afferent data provided by the peripheral sensors are analysed and compared by the nerve centres. Having checked the congruity and the redundancy of the data, they send an order to the efferent systems to adapt the posture to the task in hand.

There is however both a strategic and a hierarchical approach when using said data. Some pieces of information carry more weight than others.

To simplify things, proprioception can be considered a low frequency system. In fact, if it was not for proprioception, we would not be able to remain still. Proprioception ensures the smoothness of segmental tonic muscle contraction and ensures posture control. Irrespective of proprioceptive control, postural muscle tone must overcome acceleration due to gravity to maintain an upright position. The role of the otolithic system is to permanently measure acceleration due to gravity and to therefore control, amongst other things, the tonicity of the extensor muscles.

Visual input is used much more frequently, but for a greater variety of the frequency range and of the task to be completed, either slow eye movements (tracking movements), or quicker eye movements (saccadic eye movement) can be used, but for the latter, sight would be suppressed during movement.

 

Vestibular input responds to high frequencies. Its role is essential as it interoperates with the other two inputs. We have seen the otolithic interaction in an unmoving position, but in real life, we do move and we do shift about. The vestibule is the organ used for moving around, for moving the head or the body within a three dimensional space.

The vestibulary system (and by vestibulary system we mean the complex sequence of events from the periphery to the centres; the peripheral sensor being nothing more than a link on this chain) is to stabilise the visual scene during movement and/or a change in the position of/and the head or body. If the eye was fixed in the eye socket or if it only used its own movements, when walking we would experience a condition called oscillopsia. In other words, the surrounding landscape would appear blurred or would appear to jump each time we took a step. When walking, the head is subject to a passive lateral movement of approximately 1Hz. So we would therefore see vertical oscillation of the visual scene at a frequency of 1Hz. Expressed differently: the vestibular system with its vestibular-ocular interaction allows us to enjoy a stable image of the target object on our retina. The fact that the eye and the vestibule are located in the head enables us to state that the vestibule stabilizes the gaze and also acts as the proprioceptor for the head.

 

Stable vision is essential for balance. It is impossible to maintain balance in a visually unstable universe.

That covers the fundamentals. But in real terms, the coherent operating of the chain as a whole is more complex. Adapting the standing position is a result of learning. It can be accepted that all actions are the result of learning. By extension, it can also be accepted that vestibular rehabilitation is not rehabilitation per se, but rather the learning of a new way to use the systems. Systems that no longer function according to logic acquired through everyday use, but with a functional anomaly of one of its parameters. Through a process of learning in normal subjects, this multimodal adaptation is essentially quite simple for one reason: to complete a task as quickly as possible, without conscious and /or voluntary participation, as best as possible, or as perfectly as possible while expending the least amount of energy possible.

Normal subjects are free to use whichever of the different inputs is most effective. This use is subject to a strategy that is unique to each subject. The difference in activity of each one, the difference in speed of the action requires the systems to be adapted in order to be able to comply with the requisites when carrying out a task. The multiplicity of strategies explains the extraordinary inter-individual differences observed in normal subjects during the different experiments and balance assessment tests.

For a subject with a pathological condition, missing information, or erroneous information, appears when the system is used. This anomaly, when it involves the vestibular system, causes a great stir due to the tremendous number of interactions of the system on the other inputs. This anomaly interferes with the logical functioning that is “habitually” used. If a solution is not found quickly, either by spontaneous recovery or by compensation, a kind of panic attack will be produced and the brain will go into a state of alarm. Action and movement will therefore become conscious. This new situation consumes a considerable amount of energy.

 

The problem can only be resolved if:

  • there is a conflicting situation, with other systems, sufficiently significant to force the brain to look for and find a solution
  • the conflicting situation continues for a sufficiently long period of time so that the compensation procedures kick in

This can be attested to in the experiments carried out by Michel LACOUR (National Scientific Research Council (CNRS) Marseille). He has shown the compensation of a monkey following unilateral labyrinthectomy in a number of situations:

  • a normal, active situation,
  • with sensory restriction.

The return to “normalcy” of the monkey that underwent sensory restriction took longer and was incomplete. On the other hand, the monkey who had to carry out an “activity” underwent a quicker and better recovery. We therefore know that with vestibular rehabilitation, what has been acquired has been acquired and will remain as long as a need for compensation exists. Although admittedly there is some degree of decompensation, it is often consequential such as:

  • extraneous causes, often iatrogenic,
  • an unanticipated evolution of the pathology.

In these cases, diagnosis should be re-examined.

 

We are very aware that for a subject to be considered a "vestibulopath", to return to a normal social and professional life, one must:

  • act quickly. Try to begin rehabilitation as soon as the affection appears,
  • ask the subject to be as active as possible even if this request might appear cruel,
  • have close ties with the members of the clinical team in order to adapt the medical treatment to the changing symptoms of the patient undergoing VR; the medicated treatment should be considered an essential complement of VR

 

The vestibular system has another role, one of many: the anticipatory positioning of the gaze. In effect, we move towards what we are looking at (Alain BERTHOZ). The vestibular system ensures that the gaze is aimed in the direction we are moving in before the rest of the body changes direction.

 

So from the above, it can be deduced that balance starts in the head and then descends down to the feet. From a rehabilitation perspective, this means that the priority is to recover the ability to direct and anticipate the gaze. The body followed by the chain reaction of a set of reflexes. In summary, and succinctly, there are:

  • the vestibulo-ocular reflex: stabilises the visual scene on the retina,
  • the vestibulocollic reflex: stabilises the position of the head,
  • the cervicocollic reflex: guides the torso in relation to the head.

 

We should also not forget the vestibulospinal reflex which controls the tonicity and is in charge of making postural readjustments, whereby the vestibule becomes the trigger for the parachute reaction. The best example of this reflex is during what Georges FREYSS describes as: vestibular omission. Further on we will see what that entails in detail but for now, briefly, it describes the non-employment of vestibular input.

And finally, it is widely known that the vestibular system acts as an angular accelerometer. This means that at a constant speed, the system is at rest. But this is not the only situation; in fact, a reading of zero is not without reason. The zero reading means rest so we are motionless. This final intimation is the most obvious but there is also the condition where the system does not respond because it has been destroyed. So in conclusion, the value of zero corresponds to three scenarios:

  • motionlessness,
  • constant speed,
  • lesion.

What will resolve the problem? : The eye

 

There appears to be consistency:

  • when the subject is motionless because the visual scene is motionless.
  • when we actively move or if we are passively subject to a movement: the visual scene moves.

On the other hand, if the system has a lesion, there will be conflict of information and consequently symptoms will manifest themselves.

 

The reflex that appears to eliminate any doubt when the vestibular system is silent is the optokinetic reflex: when we gaze upon a visual scene while moving, the eye is subject to a tracking movement that is attuned to the movement of the scenery. The moment arrives when:

  • either the head is forced to move in the direction of the stimuli to increase the amplitude of the overall movement,
  • or either the head does not move but the eye returns to its starting position and so forth. The association of this slow tracking movement followed by a saccadic recentering resembles a nystagmus. This would be an optokinetic nystagmus.

 

But there is another optokinetic nystagmus which in this case is caused by the activation of the optokinetic reflex. This nystagmus is purely an involuntary reflex that follows the movement of the scenery. It is caused by stimulation of the whole visual field. In other words, the stimulus fully envelopes the stimulated subject. The stimulation surface is at a maximum. The optokinetic nystagmus, which we will call cortical nystagmus to simplify things, can be caused by the movement of a single point of light. It will have a gain of one. On the other hand, the subcortical optokinetic nystagmus caused by the activation of the optokinetic reflex will have a gain of about 0.75. It will appear following a period of around twelve seconds of stimulation. During the first twelve seconds, there is a cortical optokinetic nystagmus presumably associated with the subcortical nystagmus. After twelve seconds, only the subcortical nystagmus remains. The reflex is produced in such a way that the system functions on its own. What is particular about this reflex is that it generates additional symptoms: a sensation of movement and an ipsilateral postural deviation in the direction of the stimulus.

 

The sensation of movement is proof of reflex engagement. Postural deviation has this peculiarity: it is not a loss of balance but rather an active correction of the sensation of movement of the room the subject is in; apparent movement in the opposite direction to that of the stimuli. It is as if the subject perceives a motionless stimulus, a movement opposite that of the room which acts as a screen. To avoid falling with the room, which from a spatial perspective is no longer the Euclidean reference, the subject attempts to maintain their position. This extremely powerful reflex has plenty to teach us when assessing damage to the balance function. It is likely that there are still things to discover and to learn about this subcortical reflex.

 

 

In conclusion, it can be seen that everything is interconnected. The correct functioning of the system so as not to have any symptoms is complicated. What characterizes the use of all these afferents is neuroplasticity. In 1999, it is becoming difficult to be satisfied with a subcortical physiology and to simply gloss over the role of the nerve centres. Besides the cerebellum, an organ that contributes to precision and measuring, we can not simply ignore all the cortical regions, especially the parieto-insular vestibular cortex. To simplify things, all these regions come under the single heading "vestibular cortex ". Contrary to the visual cortex, it is not a geographically specific region, but rather a collection of regions that take part in the creation of routines. The routines that are executed by the peripheral system aim, as we have already explained, to complete a task in the minimum amount of time expending the least amount of energy.

 

The regions located in the vicinity of the cortex are responsible for the spatial representation of the function of balance. We believe that the vestibular system, as a whole, allows us to locate a front right egocentric deviation. This front right egocentric deviation would, compared to a front right reference deviation, split into two parts (right and left), and achieved through learning from experiences since childhood, and this smoothly operating ensemble would make its way through a three dimensional universe. Therefore: any dysfunction is reflected in a bias. This bias is responsible for front right egocentric deviation instead of front right reference deviation, which would therefore enable us to understand all the lateralisations and other deviations observed in patients.

 

Furthermore we believe that the front right reference deviation would be "suspended" from gravity by the otolithic system. Experiments on vertical optokinetic stimulations by T. TSUZUKU, A. SEMONT, A. BERTHOZ (in press) make us think that the otolithic system acts as an inhibiter on ascending ocular movements. If as we think, the front right referent is under the control of the otolithic system, it is understandable that unilateral otolithic damage might be perceived as lateral collapse. (Tilt).

 

As a result, we believe, as far as spontaneous nystagmus is concerned, that the slow phase would be, as we have always taught, the result of vestibular asymmetry. The slow phase would be "passive" while the quick phase would be under the control of the cortical regions and reflects a stimulating action to correct the front right egocentric deviation. The fast stage would therefore be “active”.

 

All these hypotheses form the basis of the new approaches to clinical research.

SITE MAP  |  LEGAL INFO  |  Contact  |  COPYRIGHT 2009 © SIRV

SIRV
Société Internationale de Réhabilitation Vestibulaire

vestib.org le Site de la Rééducation Vestibulaire

Neurophysiologie de l'équilibration

Faire un chapitre détaillé sur l'anatomie et la physiologie de l'équilibration en 1999 serait de notre part assez prétentieux. Nous préférons renvoyer le lecteur aux nombreux ouvrages écrits par des gens compétents. En revanche il nous paraît important, pour la bonne compréhension de ce qui va suivre de faire un survol de cette physiologie en étant pragmatique. C'est à dire expliquer ce qu'il est nécessaire de savoir pour avoir une bonne compréhension des pathologies et de leurs symptômes. La rééducation vestibulaire n'étant rien d'autre que l'utilisation de la physiologie. Cette connaissance permettra d'appréhender la démarche thérapeutique.
Certaines hypothèses du fonctionnement des systèmes présentées ci après ne sont pas nécessairement écrites dans les ouvrages disponibles. Ces hypothèses sont le fruit d'interrogations dues à l'observation du comportement des malades. Ces hypothèses font partie des orientations des différents laboratoires de recherche travaillant dans le domaine qui est le notre. Ceci pour dire qu'aujourd'hui la rééducation vestibulaire a atteint un certain degré de sophistication mais qu'il y a encore beaucoup à faire, beaucoup de choses à apprendre.

 

L'équilibration est une fonction qui est élaborée par des centres en utilisant une périphérie. La périphérie est double : elle est constituée par des afférences neuro-sensorielles et des éfférences neuro-motrices. Le chapitre neuromoteur ne sera pas abordé ici. Les pathologies neuro-motrices sont responsables de ce que les neurologues appellent les troubles de la statique et de la marche. Les kinésithérapeutes connaissent bien la rééducation des différentes ataxies.
Dans cette fonction on peut considérer que l'élément neuro-sensoriel est celui qui, grâce aux informations en provenance des capteurs périphérique, va élaborer une commande que l'élément neuromoteur exécutera. On partira du principe, en ce qui concerne les pathologies qui nous intéressent, que l'élément neuromoteur est apathologique.

Pour tenir debout on a besoin de trois entrées sensorielles :

  • L'entrée somato-sensorielle,
  • L'entrée visuelle,
  • L'entrée vestibulaire.


L'entrée somato-sensorielle est constituée principalement par la proprioception des muscles squelettiques et des capteurs ostéo-articulaires. Les articulations principales sont la tibio-tarsienne et la coxo-fémorale.

L'entrée visuelle comprend la vision fovéale qui sert à regarder et la vision périphérique qui sert à ramener sur la fovéa une image apparue dans le champ visuel et dont l'intérêt est significatif. C'est aussi dans la rétine périphérique que se trouvent les capteurs de vitesse de déplacement de la scène visuelle. L'ensemble sert à voir.

L'entrée vestibulaire est constituée par le labyrinthe postérieur qui comprend les canaux semi-circulaires et les macules otolithiques. Les canaux semi-circulaires sont au nombre de trois par labyrinthe. Il y a un canal externe disposé sur le plan de Francfort et deux canaux verticaux. Ces deux canaux verticaux forment entre eux un angle de 90°. Ces canaux sont remplis d'un liquide: l'endolymphe. Chacun d'entre eux porte à une extrémité un renflement appelé ampoule. Cette ampoule est fermée par une membrane anhiste: la cupule. La base de cette cupule repose sur un épithélium cilié. Les cellules ciliées sont les mecano-transducteurs de l'information. L'ensemble canal-cupule constitue un accéléromètre angulaire. Il faut retenir de ceci que :

  • la cupule est d'une densité identique à celle de l'endolymphe.
  • le mouvement cupulaire est provoqué par les variations de pression de l'endolymphe sur celle-ci. Autrement dit la cupule n'est pas soumise aux variations de l'accélération de la pesanteur.


Les macules otolithiques sont constituées par des cristaux de carbonate de calcium enchâssés dans une "gélatine" elle-même posée sur une couche de cellules ciliées. Les macules sont d'une densité très largement supérieure à l'endolymphe. Lors d'un mouvement de flexion de la tête par exemple la macule va glisser, sous l'action de la pesanteur, vers l'avant. Ce cisaillement durera aussi longtemps que la position de la tête sera maintenue. Ce mouvement de cisaillement va faire bouger les cils des cellules ciliées et envoyer un message aux centres. Ce message signalera la variation de l'orientation du vecteur gravitaire par rapport à l'axe de la tête. Nous pensons encore que le système otolithique a un rôle inhibiteur sur les mouvements oculaires ascendants.

Les informations afférentes données par les capteurs périphériques sont analysées, comparées par les centres. Après avoir vérifié la congruence et la redondance des informations ils vont envoyer un ordre aux systèmes efférents pour adapter la posture à la tâche envisagée.
Il y a cependant une stratégie et une hiérarchie dans l'utilisation des entrées. Certaines ont plus de poids que d'autres.

On peut, pour simplifier les choses, considérer que la proprioception est un système utilisé à fréquence basse. En effet on peut maintenir une posture immobile uniquement grâce à la proprioception. La proprioception a pour objet d'assurer l'harmonie de la contraction tonique musculaire segmentaire pour conserver et assurer le maintien de la posture. Indépendamment de ce contrôle proprioceptif le tonus postural doit vaincre l'accélération de la pesanteur pour conserver la posture érigée. Le rôle du système otolithique est de mesurer en permanence l'accélération de la pesanteur et donc de contrôler, entre autres, le tonus des muscles extenseurs.

L'entrée visuelle est utilisée à fréquence plus élevée mais pour satisfaire à une utilisation variable en fonction de la bande de fréquence et de la tâche à remplir on pourra utiliser des mouvements oculaires lents (mouvements de poursuite), des mouvements plus rapides (saccades oculaires) mais pour lesquels il y aura une extinction de la vision pendant le mouvement.

L'entrée vestibulaire répond aux fréquences élevées. Son rôle est capital car il interagit sur les deux autres entrées. Nous avons vu l'interaction otolithique lors d'une posture statique mais on bouge, on se déplace. Le vestibule est l'organe du déplacement, du mouvement de la tête et du corps dans un espace tridimensionnel.
Le système vestibulaire (sous le terme système vestibulaire nous entendons la chaîne complexe qui va de la périphérie jusqu'aux centres; le capteur périphérique n'étant qu'un maillon de cette chaîne) a pour objet de stabiliser la scène visuelle pendant un mouvement et/ou un déplacement de la tête et/ou du corps. Si l'oeil était fixe dans l'orbite ou s'il n'utilisait que ses mouvements propres on aurait lors de la marche un symptôme appelé oscillopsie. C'est à dire que le paysage environnant serait flou ou bougerait en résonance avec la fréquence du pas. Pendant la marche la tête est soumise à un mouvement passif vertical d'à peu prés 1hz. on verrait donc la scène visuelle osciller verticalement à une fréquence de 1Hz. Formulé autrement: le système vestibulaire par son interaction vestibulo-oculaire va permettre de conserver l'image d'une cible stable sur la rétine. Le fait que l'oeil et le vestibule soient dans la tête permet de dire que le vestibule stabilise le regard et est aussi le propriocepteur de la tête.
Cette stabilité du regard est la clé de l'équilibre. Il n'est pas possible de tenir en équilibre dans un univers visuellement instable.

Voici pour les aspects les plus élémentaires. En effet le fonctionnement cohérent de l'ensemble de cette chaîne est plus complexe. L'adaptation à la station debout est le fruit de l'apprentissage. On peut accepter que toute action soit la conséquence d'un apprentissage. Dés lors on peut accepter de la même manière que la rééducation vestibulaire ne soit pas une rééducation mais un apprentissage d'une nouvelle forme d'utilisation des systèmes. Systèmes qui ne fonctionnent plus avec la logique des acquis de la vie mais avec une anomalie de fonctionnement d'un des paramètres. Cette adaptation multimodale fruit de l'apprentissage a, dans le fond, chez le sujet normal une raison d'être assez simple: remplir une tâche le plus vite possible, donc sans participation consciente et/ou volontaire, le mieux possible voire le plus parfaitement possible en utilisant le moins d'énergie possible.

Un sujet normal a la liberté d'utiliser les différentes entrées avec le plus de pertinence possible. Cette utilisation est soumise à une stratégie propre à chaque sujet. La différence d'activité de chacun, la différence de vitesse d'action de chacun oblige à une adaptation des systèmes afin de remplir les contrats qui lui sont proposés lors de l'exécution d'une tâche. Cette multiplicité de stratégies explique la formidable différence interindividuelle observée chez le sujet normal dans les expérimentations et différents tests d'évaluation de la fonction d'équilibration.

Chez un sujet pathologique une absence de données, ou une donnée erronée, apparaît lors de l'utilisation d'un système. Cette anomalie, lorsqu'il s'agit du système vestibulaire, a un retentissement considérable à cause des formidables interactions du système sur les autres entrées. Cette anomalie va perturber le fonctionnement logique tel qu'il avait "l'habitude" d'être utilisé. Si la solution n'est pas trouvée rapidement, soit par récupération spontanée, soit par compensation, il va se produire une sorte d'attaque de panique et le cerveau va se mettre en état d'alerte. L'action et le mouvement vont alors devenir conscients. Cette nouvelle situation consomme une quantité d'énergie considérable.

La solution du problème ne pourra être trouvée que si :

  • il y a une situation conflictuelle, avec d'autres systèmes, suffisamment significative pour obliger le cerveau à rechercher et trouver une solution
  • que la situation conflictuelle soit présente suffisamment longtemps pour que les processus de compensation se mettent en route

Ceci a été démontré par les travaux de Michel LACOUR (CNRS Marseille). Il a montré l'état de la compensation d'un singe après labyrinthectomie unilatérale dans plusieurs situations :

  • une situation normale et active,
  • une situation avec restriction sensorielle.

Le retour à la "normale" du singe en restriction a été non seulement plus long mais incomplet. En revanche le singe soumis à une "activité" a récupéré plus vite et mieux.
C'est ainsi qu'on sait, en rééducation vestibulaire, que ce qui est acquis est acquis et restera acquis aussi longtemps que la nécessité de compenser existera. Certes il existe des décompensations mais celles-ci sont souvent la conséquence :

  • de causes extrinsèques, souvent iatrogènes,
  • d'une évolution non prévisible de la pathologie.

Ceci obligeant à reconsidérer le diagnostic.

On se rend bien compte que pour pouvoir rendre à un sujet "vestibulopathe" un retour à une vie socio-professionnelle normale il faut :

  • agir vite. Essayer de commencer à le rééduquer très rapidement après l'apparition de l'affection,
  • demander au sujet d'être le plus actif possible même si la demande paraît cruelle,
  • avoir une relation très privilégiée avec les membres de l'équipe soignante afin d'adapter le traitement médical à l'évolution des symptômes du sujet sous R.V. ; le traitement médicamenteux doit être considéré comme un complément indispensable à la R.V.


Le système vestibulaire a un autre rôle parmi tant d'autres: permettre l'orientation anticipatrice du regard. En effet on va vers ce qu'on regarde (Alain BERTHOZ). Le système vestibulaire va faire en sorte que le regard soit orienté dans la direction de notre déplacement avant que le reste du corps s'oriente.
On voit donc à travers ce qui vient d'être décrit que l'équilibration part de la tête et descend vers les pieds. Sur le plan de la rééducation cela veut dire que la priorité est de retrouver une capacité d'orientation et d'anticipation du regard. Le corps suit par le jeu de réflexes en chaîne. En résumé et succinctement on aura :

  • le réflexe vestibulo-oculaire: stabilise la scène visuelle sur la rétine,
  • le réflexe vestibulo-collique: stabilise la tête dans l'espace,
  • le réflexe cervico-collique oriente le tronc sous la tête.


Il ne faut pas oublier le réflexe vestibulo-spinal qui contrôle le tonus et qui est responsable des réajustements posturaux. A travers ce réflexe le vestibule devient le déclencheur de la réaction para-chute. La plus belle illustration du fonctionnement de ce réflexe se situe à travers ce que Georges FREYSS a décrit sous l'appellation: omission vestibulaire. On verra plus loin en quoi cela consiste mais brièvement il s'agit d'une non-utilisation de l'entrée vestibulaire.

Enfin on sait que le système vestibulaire est un accéléromètre angulaire. Ceci veut dire qu'à vitesse constante le système est silencieux. Mais ce n'est pas la seule situation ; en effet la valeur zéro n'est pas innocente. Le zéro signifie silence donc que nous sommes immobiles. Cette dernière proposition est la plus évidente mais il y a aussi la situation ou le système ne répond pas parce qu'il est détruit. Donc en conclusion il y a trois significations pour la valeur zéro :

  • immobilité,
  • vitesse constante,
  • lésion.

Qui va résoudre le problème ? : L'oeil

Il y aura congruence :

  • Lorsque le sujet est immobile dans l'espace car la scène visuelle est immobile.
  • Si on se déplace activement ou si on est passivement soumis à un déplacement : la scène visuelle bouge.

En revanche si le système est lésé il y aura conflit d'informations donc symptômes.

Le réflexe qui sert de lever de doute quand le système vestibulaire est silencieux est le réflexe opto-cinétique : lorsque nous regardons une scène visuelle en déplacement l'oeil est animé d'un mouvement de poursuite en phase avec le mouvement du paysage. Il arrive un moment tel que :

  • soit la tête est obligée de bouger dans la direction du stimulus pour augmenter l'amplitude du mouvement total,
  • soit la tête ne bouge pas mais l'oeil revient à son point de départ et ainsi de suite. L'association de ce mouvement lent de poursuite suivi d'une saccade de recentrement a la forme d'un nystagmus. Ce sera un nystagmus opto-cinétique.


Mais il est un autre nystagmus opto-cinétique qui est, lui, provoqué par l'engagement du réflexe opto-cinétique. Ce nystagmus est purement réflexe sans participation volontaire pour suivre le mouvement du paysage. Il est provoqué par une stimulation en champ visuel total. C'est à dire que le stimulus enveloppe complètement le sujet stimulé. La surface de stimulation est maximale. Le nystagmus opto-cinétique, qu'on appellera cortical pour plus de simplicité, peut être provoqué par le déplacement d'un simple point lumineux. Son gain sera égal à l'unité. En revanche le nystagmus opto-cinétique sous-cortical donc provoqué par l'engagement du réflexe opto-cinétique aura un gain d'environ 0.75. Il apparaîtra après un certain temps de stimulation d'environ douze secondes. Pendant les douze premières secondes il y aura un nystagmus opto-cinétique cortical associé vraisemblablement au nystagmus sous-cortical. Au bout de douze secondes il ne reste plus que le nystagmus sous-cortical. Le réflexe est fait de telle manière que le système fonctionne tout seul. La particularité de ce réflexe est qu'il générera d'autres manifestations: une sensation de mouvement propre et une déviation posturale ipsi-latérale à la direction du stimulus.

 

La sensation de mouvement propre est la preuve de l'engagement du réflexe. La déviation posturale a ceci de particulier: il ne s'agit pas d'un déséquilibre mais d'une correction active de l'illusion de mouvement de la pièce dans laquelle se trouve le sujet ; mouvement apparent en sens inverse de celui du stimulus. Tout se passe comme si le sujet percevait un stimulus immobile et un mouvement contraire de la pièce qui fait office d'écran. Afin d'éviter de tomber avec la pièce qui, spatialement parlant, n'est plus dans un référentiel euclidien le sujet tente, lui, d'y rester. Ce réflexe extrêmement puissant est plein d'enseignement dans les évaluations des dommages de la fonction d'équilibration. Il est vraisemblable qu'il y a encore des choses à découvrir et à apprendre sur ce réflexe sous-cortical.

En conclusion nous voyons que tout est relié à tout. Que le bon fonctionnement du système qui permettra de ne pas avoir de symptômes est complexe. Ce qui caractérise l'utilisation de toutes ces afférences est la plasticité neuronale. En 1999 il devient difficile de se contenter d'une physiologie sous-corticale et de faire abstraction du rôle des centres. En dehors de l'action du cervelet en tant qu'organe de la précision, de la métrie il ne faut pas négliger toutes ces zones corticales et principalement le cortex vestibulaire pariéto-insulaire. Toutes ces zones sont regroupées pour plus de facilité sous le vocable de "cortex vestibulaire". A la différence du cortex visuel il ne s'agit pas d'une zone spécifique géographiquement déterminée mais d'un ensemble de zones qui participent à l'élaboration de routines. Ces routines exécutées par la périphérie ont pour objet, ainsi que l'avons déjà expliqué, de remplir une tâche dans le minimum de temps en utilisant le minimum d'énergie.

 

Ces zones à localisation corticale seraient responsables de la représentation spatiale du fonctionnement de l'équilibre. Nous pensons que le système vestibulaire, dans son ensemble, autoriserait la connaissance de la position d'un droit devant egocentré. Ce droit devant égocentré se déplacerait par rapport à un droit devant référent, partagé en deux parties (droite et gauche), construit par l'apprentissage, par la vie depuis l'enfance, et cet ensemble au fonctionnement harmonieux se déplacerait dans l'univers tridimensionnel. Ainsi : toute dysfonction se traduirait par un biais. Ce biais serait responsable d'une déviation du droit devant egocentré par rapport au droit devant référent ce qui permettrait alors de comprendre toutes les latéralisations et autres déviations observées chez les sujets pathologiques.

 

Nous pensons encore que le droit devant référent serait "suspendu" à la gravité par le système otolithique. Des expérimentations sur les stimulations opto-cinétiques verticales par T. TSUZUKU, A. SEMONT, A. BERTHOZ (in press) ont fait penser que le système otolithique aurait un rôle inhibiteur sur les mouvements oculaires ascendants. Si comme nous le pensons le droit devant référent est sous le contrôle du système otolithique on comprend qu'une atteinte otolithique unilatérale puisse être perçue comme un effondrement latéral. (Tilt).


De ce fait nous pensons, en ce qui concerne le nystagmus spontané, que la phase lente serait, ainsi que nous l'avons toujours appris, la traduction de l'asymétrie vestibulaire. Cette phase lente serait "passive" alors que la phase rapide serait sous le contrôle de ces zones corticales et traduirait l'action tonique pour corriger la déviation du droit devant egocentré. La phase rapide serait active.
Toutes ces hypothèses sont les bases de nouvelles orientations en recherche clinique.

PLAN DU SITE  |  MENTIONS LÉGALES  |  CONTACT  |  COPYRIGHT 2009 © SIRV